christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

International contemporary drawing art fair in Marseille.

We are pleased to be part of the 16 galleries (including 7 Parisians galleries) chosen by fifth international contemporary drawing art fair “Pareidolie” selection committee, which will take place at the J1 space, in Marseille, from September the 1st to 2nd, 2018.

We will feature works by the Brazilian artist Marilena Pelosi and the French Michel Nedjar.

Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Marilena Pelosi untitled, 2016
11.42 x 8.27 in
untitled (marilyn monroe) - © christian berst — art brut
José Manuel Egea untitled (marilyn monroe), 2013
24.02 x 35.83 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Michel Nedjar untitled, 1990
27.17 x 39.37 in
Artists
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Marilena Pelosi

At a very young age, Marilena Pelosi began to make drawings in which exuberant Catholicism and feverish Macumba, from her native Brazil, swirled to the point of delirium. The reminiscence of trance, eucharistic processions and carnivals are inextricably combined with much more intimate evocations. Now living in Normandy, she continues these same disturbing drawings, made with ballpoint pens, in which doll-women are both executioners and victims. Entering the BIC collection (France) in 2019, she is represented in major collections, including those of Hannah Rieger (Austria), Amr Shaker (Switzerland), and Dino Menozzi (Italy).

More
Michel Nedjar in his workshop - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

He is the living most exposed and published brut artist and yet, the extraordinary trajectory of this Frenchman poses a question rarely addressed: that of the impermanence of art brut. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet during his work on the resurgence of the symbolic body, he then became the protean artist we know today and who, in creation, embodies an absolute freedom. Found in numerous collections, he is the first brut artist whose works were added to the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France). Since 2008, he has been celebrated through six monographic exhibitions by Le Mahj (Paris), LaM (Lille), the Gugging Museum (Vienna), and the gallery.

More
portrait of josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

José Manuel Egea

Convinced of his lycanthropy, this young Madrid artist is fascinated by the Kafkaesque metamorphosis found in the comics and mythology world. His work, also polymorphic, consists of drawings, sculptures and performances, and urges us to accept our repressed therianthropy. Promoted by the gallery since 2016, he is already found in major European contemporary art collections such as those of Antoine de Galbert, or Laurent Dumas (France).

More
pareidolie

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Salon international du dessin contemporain à Marseille.

Nous sommes heureux de compter parmi les 16 galeries (dont 7 parisiennes) retenues par le comité de sélection du salon international du dessin contemporain Pareidolie, qui se tiendra pour cette 5e édition à l’espace le J1, place de la Joliette à Marseille, le week end du 1er et 2 septembre.

Nous y présenterons des oeuvres de l’artiste d’origine brésilienne Marilena Pelosi, du français Michel Nedjar et de l’espagnol José Manuel Egea.

Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Marilena Pelosi sans titre, 2016
29.5 x 21 cm
sans titre (marilyn monroe) - © christian berst — art brut
José Manuel Egea sans titre (marilyn monroe), 2013
61 x 91 cm
sans titre (période de Belleville) - © christian berst — art brut
Michel Nedjar sans titre (période de Belleville), 1990
69 x 100.5 cm
Artistes
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Marilena Pelosi

Très jeune, Marilena Pelosi commence à produire des dessins, dans lesquels le catholicisme exubérant et la macumba fiévreuse de son Brésil natal, tournoient jusqu’au délire. La réminiscence de transes, de processions eucharistiques et de carnavals sont inextricablement mêlés à des évocations bien plus intimes. Aujourd’hui retirée en Normandie, elle continue à produire ces mêmes dessins troublants, faits au stylo à bille, dans lesquels des femmes-poupées sont à la fois bourreaux et victimes. Entrée dans la collection BIC (France) en 2019, elle figure dans des collections majeures, parmi lesquelles celles d’Hannah Rieger (Autriche), Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou de Dino Menozzi (Italie).

En savoir plus
Michel Nedjar dans son atelier - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

Il est l’artiste brut, vivant, le plus exposé et publié et pourtant la trajectoire extraordinaire de ce français pose une question rarement abordée : celle de l’impermanence de l’art brut. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, au moment où il travaille sur la résurgence du corps symbolique, il s’autorise alors à devenir l’artiste protéiforme que l’on connaît et qui, dans la création, incarne une absolue liberté. Présent dans d’innombrables collections, il est le premier « brut » à être entré dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (France). Depuis 2008 il s’est vu consacrer six expositions monographiques par Le Mahj (Paris), le LaM (Lille), le musée Gugging (Vienne) et la galerie.

En savoir plus
portrait de josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

José Manuel Egea

Convaincu de sa lycanthropie, ce jeune artiste madrilène est fasciné par la métamorphose kafkaienne présente dans l’univers du comics et de la mythologie . Son œuvre, lui aussi polymorphe, constitué de dessins, sculptures et performances nous exhorte à accepter notre thérianthropie refoulée. Défendu par la galerie depuis 2016 il a fait l’objet, la même année, d’une vaste présentation lors de la Biennale de l’Image possible, à Liège. Il est désormais présent dans de grandes collections européennes comme celles d’Antoine de Galbert ou de Laurent Dumas (France).

En savoir plus
pareidolie

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.