christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

In response to the 60th Venice Biennale on the theme of “strangers everywhere,” curated by general commissioner Adriano Pedrosa, we wanted to bring together within the gallery the same exceptional quartet of artists: Aloïse Corbaz, Madge Gill, Leopold Strobl, and Anna Zemánková. The little venice exhibition brings together more than thirty works, most of which are being presented to the public for the first time. This unprecedented exhibition allows the genius of these leading artists—defended by the gallery for nearly 20 years in some cases—to engage in intimate dialogue.

The 60th Venice Biennale has just opened its doors on the theme of “Strangers Everywhere.” Adriano Pedrosa, the general curator, outlines its scope: “The queer artist, who has moved within different sexualities and genders, often persecuted or outlawed; the outsider artist, who finds themselves on the margins of the art world, like the autodidact and the so-called folk artist; as well as the indigenous artist, often treated as a stranger in their own country.”
Here, the notion of the stranger is akin to that of “the other,” a minority yet global, which society must not only take into consideration but which it has a duty to protect and valorize. It is primarily according to these criteria that works by these four brut artists, already endorsed by institutions such as Pompidou or MoMA, have been selected: Anna Zemánková, Madge Gill, Aloïse Corbaz, and Leopold Strobl.
The otherness of the first two is manifested, for one, by an almost mystical relationship with creation, and for the other, by the fact that she attributed her productions to the intervention of spirit entities. As for the latter two, their productions rather suggest exceptionally fertile mental disturbances.
However, unlike the other typologies of “strangers” highlighted in this Biennale, the brut artist does not define themselves because of belonging or exclusion. Nor do they claim membership in a community of supposedly “outsider” artists. Their individuality, their singularity, always takes precedence over the collective. In this sense, they do not create to rebel against an ostracism they would suffer, but they build, through the power of their imagination, a world that resembles them.
Indissociably.
“There exists a point of the spirit from which… the real and the imaginary… will cease to be perceived as contradictory,” wrote André Breton in the Surrealist Manifesto. And it is precisely there that the raw artists stand. Where their incandescent difference fuses the real and the imaginary.

little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
Artwork
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Madge Gill untitled, 1940
5.51 x 3.15 in
Artists
aloïse corbaz - © alfred bader, christian berst — art brut

Aloïse

A major figure in Art Brut, Aloïse Corbaz created over 2,000 drawings, most of them double-sided, in an asylum setting. This woman, who dreamed of being an opera singer and was an eternal romantic, had an almost mystical relationship with her work, which was admired by Jean Dubuffet. Today, her work is part of major collections such as the American Folk Art Museum, the National Museum of Modern Art, and the Collection de l’Art Brut.

More
Madge Gill - © christian berst — art brut

Madge Gill

The works of Madge Gill, a mediumistic artist from the mid-20th century, were collected by Jean Dubuffet. Guided by a spirit and in a trance state, Madge Gill drew in ink on surfaces ranging from small formats to rolls of over a hundred meters. Her entire body of work was only discovered after she died in 1961. Today considered a key figure in outsider art, her works can be found in major European and North American collections: American Folk Art Museum (New York, USA), the Museum of Everything (UK), Arnulf Rainer Collection (Austria), Damman (Switzerland), etc. In 2024, her works are presented at the Venice Biennale curated by Adriano Pedrosa.

More
anna zemankova - © christian berst — art brut

Anna Zemánková

It was in the early 1960s that this Moravian woman began producing a body of work for which her humble background had not prepared her and which responded strikingly to injunctions from the innermost depths. Thus, at a time when the demons of the night were still competing with the seminal iridescence of dawn, she would gather strange flowers in her mind before drawing them forth on paper. ‘‘I grow flowers that don’t grow anywhere else,’’ she used to say. Anna Zemánková is already an established figure in the art brut, so much so that in 2013 she was honored at the 55th Venice Biennale before an important group of her works joined the collections of the Centre Pompidou and the Boston Museum of Fine Arts in 2020.

More
leopold strobl, gugging - © marco prenninger, christian berst — art brut

Leopold Strobl

Leopold Strobl has been part of Gugging (Austria) for the last ten years, finding comfort and redemption in art, a way of holding his mental demons off. He draws with colored pencil on small-format. Crafted on landscape photographs found in newspapers, his drawings are similar to magnetic portals. Strobl is part of the Museum Of Modern Art (New York) collections since 2018, his work was presented the following year in the exhibition Photo | Brut at the Rencontres d’Arles.

More
Catalog
little venice aloïse corbaz, madge gill, leopold strobl, anna zemánková
little venice - © christian berst — art brut

catalog published for the exhibition
little venice
exhibited artists: aloïse corbaz, madge gill, leopold strobl, anna zemánková
from may 18th to june 15th, 2024
foreword: christian berst

to get the catalog: click here

little venice

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

En écho à la 60e Biennale de Venise sur le thème des « étrangers partout », dont le commissaire général est Adriano Pedrosa, nous avons voulu réunir au sein de la galerie le même quatuor d’artistes exceptionnels : Aloïse Corbaz, Madge Gill, Leopold Strobl et Anna Zemánková. L’exposition little venice rassemble plus d’une trentaine d’œuvres dont la plupart sont présentées au public pour la première fois. Cette exposition inédite laisse le génie de ces artistes phares de l’art brut — défendus par la galerie depuis près de 20 ans pour certains — dialoguer en toute intimité.

La 60e Biennale de Venise vient d’ouvrir ses portes sur le thème des « Étrangers partout ». Adriano Pedrosa, le commissaire général, en précise les contours : « L’artiste queer, qui s’est déplacé au sein de différentes sexualités et de différents genres, souvent persécuté ou hors-la-loi ; l’artiste outsider, qui se trouve en marge du monde de l’art, tout comme l’autodidacte et l’artiste dit folklorique ; ainsi que l’artiste indigène, souvent traité comme un étranger dans son propre pays. »
Ici, la notion d’étranger s’apparente à celle de « l’autre », minoritaire mais global, que la société doit non seulement prendre en considération, mais qu’elle a le devoir de protéger et de valoriser. C’est donc principalement selon ces critères qu’ont été sélectionnées des œuvres de ces quatre artistes bruts par ailleurs déjà adoubés par des institutions comme Pompidou ou le MoMA : Anna Zemánková, Madge Gill, Aloïse Corbaz et Leopold Strobl.
L’altérité des deux premières se manifestait, pour l’une, par un rapport quasi mystique à la création et, pour l’autre, par le fait qu’elle attribuait ses productions à l’intervention d’instances spirites. Quant aux deux derniers, leurs productions infèrent plutôt à des troubles psychiques d’une exceptionnelle fécondité.
Cependant, à la différence des autres typologies « d’étrangers » mis en lumière dans cette Biennale, l’artiste brut ne se définit pas lui-même en raison d’une appartenance ou d’une exclusion. Pas plus qu’il ne se revendique comme membre d’une communauté d’artistes prétendument « outsiders ». Son individualité, sa singularité, l’emporte toujours sur le collectif. En ce sens, il ne créé pas à proprement parler pour s’insurger d’un ostracisme qu’il subirait, mais il bâtit, à la force de son imaginaire, un monde qui lui ressemble.
Indissociablement.
Or, « il existe un point de l’esprit d’où (…) le réel et l’imaginaire (…) cesseront d’être perçus contradictoirement » écrivait André Breton dans le Manifeste du Surréalisme. Et c’est précisément là que se tiennent les artistes bruts. Là où leur différence incandescente fait entrer en fusion le réel et l’imaginaire.

little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
little venice - © christian berst — art brut
Œuvre
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Madge Gill sans titre, 1940
14 x 8 cm
Artistes
aloïse corbaz - © alfred bader, christian berst — art brut

Aloïse

Figure majeure de l’art brut, Aloïse Corbaz a réalisé plus de 2 000 dessins, la plupart recto verso, en milieu asilaire. Cette femme qui se rêvait cantatrice, éternelle amoureuse, entretenait un rapport quasi mystique à sa production admirée par Jean Dubuffet. Son oeuvre fait aujourd’hui partie des plus grandes collections comme celles de l’American Folk Art Museum, du musée national d’Art moderne ou de la Collection de l’Art Brut.

En savoir plus
Madge Gill - © christian berst — art brut

Madge Gill

Collectionnées par Jean Dubuffet, les œuvres de Madge Gill, artiste médiumnique du milieu du XXème siècle, ont été réalisées en état de transe. Guidée par un eprit, Madge Gill dessinait à l’encre sur des supports allant du plus petit format au rouleau de plus de cent mètres. L’ensemble de son œuvre n’a été découvert qu’après sa mort en 1961. Aujourd’hui considérée comme une figure incontournable de l’art brut, on retrouve ses œuvres dans les plus grandes collections européennes et nord-américaines : American Folk Art Museum (New York, Etats-Unis), the Museum of Everything (Royaume-Uni), collection Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), Damman (Suisse), etc. En 2024, ses œuvres sont présentées à la Biennale de Venise sous le commissariat d’Adriano Pedrosa.

En savoir plus
anna zemankova - © christian berst — art brut

Anna Zemánková

C’est dès le début des années 60 que cette humble Moravienne se mit à produire un œuvre auquel sa condition ne l’avait pas préparée, répondant de façon saisissante à des injonctions venues des tréfonds. Ainsi, à l’heure où les démons de la nuit se disputaient encore les irisations séminales de l’aube, elle cueillait en pensée des fleurs étranges pour les faire saillir du papier. Anna Zemánková est une figure déjà consacrée de l’art brut, au point qu’elle fut honorée en 2013 à la Biennale de Venise avant qu’un ensemble important de ses œuvres rejoigne les collections du Centre Pompidou, puis les collections du Boston Museum of Fine Arts en 2020. En 2024, ses œuvres sont présentées pour la seconde fois à la Biennale de Venise sous le commissariat d’Adriano Pedrosa.

En savoir plus
leopold strobl, gugging - © marco prenninger, christian berst — art brut

Leopold Strobl

Leopold fréquente la maison des artistes de la Clinique psychiatrique de Gugging (Autriche) depuis une dizaine d’années, trouvant dans la création un réconfort et une rédemption, une manière de tenir à distance ses démons mentaux. Ses dessins au crayon de couleur, de petit format, sont autant de portails magnétiques réalisés sur des photographies de paysages tirées de journaux. Le graphite contamine le décor, comme pour en révéler l’étrangeté. Présent dans les collections du MoMA (New York) depuis 2018, son travail a été présenté l’année suivante dans l’exposition Photo | Brut aux Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles. En 2024, ses œuvres sont présentées à la Biennale de Venise sous le commissariat d’Adriano Pedrosa.

En savoir plus
little venice

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.