christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Bozar (Brussels) and the Dr. Guislain Museum (Gent) present together the exhibition Danser brut organised in 2018-2019 at the LaM (Villeneuve-d’Ascq) in a unique format. A complementary story to be discovered on two different sites.

Danser brut attempts to reveal the connection between dance and involuntary or repetitive movements. The exhibition examines different forms of expression of the body, the face and the hands as a translation of our being-in-the-world. Through an intriguing mix of Art Brut, modern and contemporary art, medical archive documents, film excerpts, etc., the exhibition defies categorisation.

On this occasion Bozar and the Dr. Guislain Museum will present four of our artists - Josef Hofer, Beverly Baker, Yuichi Saito and Momoko Nakagawa.

Danser brut is organized by BOZAR, Brussels and Museum Dr. Guislain, Ghent after an original concept by LaM, The Lille Métropole Museum of Modern, Contemporary and Outsider Art.

Artists
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

More
portrait de Beverly Baker - © christian berst — art brut

Beverly Baker

When Beverly Baker sits at her worktable, the ritual is always the same: on the blank piece of paper, with a ballpoint pen, the artist begins to trace letters on which she will draw until the meaning is annihilated. Her work is reminiscent of that of Twombly, Serra or Tapiès. A member of the « Latitute Artist » workshop (Kentucky), Beverly Baker has been presented twice at the Maison rouge (Paris) in these exhibitions: Le Mur, artworks from the Antoine de Galbert collection and art brut, abcd/Bruno Decharme collection and won the Wynn Newhouse Award in 2017.

More
adolf wölfli - © christian berst — art brut

Adolf Wölfli

He is the emblematic figure of 20th century art brut, author of more than 1,500 drawings and of a 25,000-page biography. He has built a personal and complex universe, where he reinvents his past and projects a utopian future, colonized to the edge of space. The richness and excess of this work cause vertigo. The list of artists he fascinates is long (among them Jean Dubuffet, Annette Messager, Arnulf Rainer), and an echo to his presence in the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France), Prinzhorn collection (Germany), and the LaM (France). As André Breton pointed out, this is “one of the three or four major works of the 20th century.”

More
yuichi saito - © yamanami, christian berst — art brut

Yuichi Saito

Yuichi Saito is fascinated by popular Japanese shows. At the workshop of Kobe Shu (Saitama), which he has been attending since 2002, he began graphic work around these television programs, methodically writing, in a broad gesture, the title of each of them. His drawings have since then reached a degree of visual abstraction of great intensity. More recently, he has undertaken work on the mo character of the hiragana alphabet: its repetitions reveal his emotional states. His work has been shown in the collections of the Museum of Everything, at MONA, in Tasmania, and during the closing exhibition of the maison rouge (France): L’envol ou Le rêve de voler.

More
Momoko Nakagawa - © christian berst — art brut

Momoko Nakagawa

A member of the Yamanami workshop (Shiga, Japan) since 2015, Momoko Nakagawa has been doing, in a broad and regular gesture, a serial and calibrated work on writing, moving from the undulating of colored frequencies to stamping numbers in coffee halos. Evoking lyrical abstraction, the young artist’s work “combines gestural spontaneity, calligraphic elegance, serialized repetition, and formal inventiveness,” as Raphael Koenig writes in the dossier devoted to her by Artpress (2020). Her work was exhibited for the first time in 2019 at Harvard University, and then, that same year, at the gallery as part of the choral exhibition japon brut: la lune, le soleil, yamanami.

More
Danser Brut

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Bozar (Bruxelles) et le Musée du Dr. Guislain (Gand) s’unissent et présentent ensemble l’exposition Danser brut organisée en 2018-2019 au LaM (Villeneuve-d’Ascq) sous un format unique. Une histoire complémentaire à découvrir sur deux sites différents.

Danser brut éclaire le lien entre danse et mouvements involontaires ou répétitifs. L’exposition étudie les formes d’expression du corps, du visage ou des mains, comprises comme une forme d’accès à notre être-au-monde. Mélange d’art brut, d’art moderne et contemporain, de documents d’archives médicales ou d’extraits de films, l’exposition défie toute catégorisation.

À cette occasion Bozar et le Musée du Dr. Guislain nous ont demandé de prêter des œuvres de quatre des artistes que nous représentons - Josef Hofer, Beverly Baker, Yuichi Saito, Momoko Nakagawa – qui côtoieront celles, notamment, d’Adolf Wölfli, d’Aloïse Corbaz, d’Ulrich Bleiker et d’Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.

Cette exposition est une adaptation du concept original du LaM, initiée par les commissaires d’exposition du Musée Dr. Guislain et le département EXPO du Palais des Beaux-Arts. Une coopération très étroite a été établie avec les commissaires associés Savine Faupin et Christophe Boulanger du LaM.

Artistes
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

En savoir plus
portrait de Beverly Baker - © christian berst — art brut

Beverly Baker

Lorsque Beverly Baker s’assied à sa table de travail, le rituel est immuable : sur la feuille vierge l’artiste commence à tracer des lettres au stylo-bille sur lesquelles elle repasse jusqu’à l’annihilation du sens. Son travail n’est pas sans rappeler celui de Twombly, Serra ou Tapiès. Membre de l’atelier « Latitute Artist » (Kentucky), Beverly Baker a été présentée à deux reprises à la Maison rouge (Paris) dans les expositions : Le Mur, oeuvres de la collection Antoine de Galbert et art brut, collection abcd/Bruno Decharme et remporte en 2017 le Wynn Newhouse Award.

En savoir plus
adolf wölfli - © christian berst — art brut

Adolf Wölfli

Il est la figure emblématique de l’art brut du XXe siècle, auteur de plus de 1500 dessins et d’une biographie de 25 000 pages. Il a construit un univers personnel et complexe, où il réinvente son passé et projette un avenir utopique, colonisé jusqu’aux confins de l’espace. La richesse et la démesure de cet œuvre provoquent le vertige. La liste des artistes qu’il fascine est longue (parmi eux Jean Dubuffet, Annette Messager, Arnulf Rainer), à l’image de sa présence dans les collections : musée national d’art moderne (France), collection Prinzhorn (Allemagne), LaM (France). Comme le soulignait André Breton, c’est là « une des trois ou quatre œuvres capitales du XXe siècle ».

En savoir plus
yuichi saito - © yamanami, christian berst — art brut

Yuichi Saito

Yuichi Saito est fasciné par les émissions populaires japonaises. À l’atelier de Kobe Shu (Saitama), qu’il fréquente depuis 2002, il a commencé un travail graphique autour de ces programmes télévisés, écrivant méthodiquement, d’un geste ample, le titre de chacun d’eux. Ses dessins ont, depuis, atteint un degré d’abstraction visuelle d’une grande intensité. Plus récemment, il a entrepris un travail sur le caractère “mo” de l’alphabet hiragana, dont les répétitions révèlent ses états émotionnels. Son œuvre a notamment été montré dans l’accrochage du Museum of Everything, au MONA, en Tasmanie, et lors de l’exposition clôturale de la Maison rouge, l’envol ou le rêve de voler.

En savoir plus
Momoko Nakagawa - © christian berst — art brut

Momoko Nakagawa

Membre de l’atelier Yamanami (Japon), depuis 2015, Momoko Nakagawa effectue, d’un geste ample et régulier, un travail sériel et calibré sur l’écriture, passant de l’ondoiement de fréquences colorées au tamponnage de chiffres dans des halos de café. Évoquant l’abstraction lyrique, le travail de cette jeune artiste « combine spontanéité gestuelle, élégance calligraphique, répétition sérielle et inventivité formelle », comme l’écrit Raphaël Koenig, dans le dossier qui lui est consacré par Artpress (2020). Exposée pour la première fois en 2019, à l’Université de Harvard, puis, cette même année, à la galerie dans le cadre de l’exposition chorale japon brut : la lune, le soleil, yamanami.

En savoir plus
Danser brut

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.