christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery participates in the first Parisian edition of this New York fair born in 1993 by exhibiting Guo Fengyi, José Johann Seinen, Albert Moser, Josef Hofer and John Devlin.

Hotel Le A, rue d’Artois, 75008, Paris

Artists
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

More
guo fengyi drawing - © christian berst — art brut

Fengyi Guo

Living her spirituality through the paths of Qigong, it was at the dawn of her 40th birthday that Guo Fengyi began to reinterpret popular Chinese beliefs in drawings of ink and brush. On rolls of rice paper, measuring up to 10 meters, entities unfold: sometimes linked to the pantheon, sometimes to the pandemonium, they seem to float in a space-time void. These heretical scrolls were even exhibited at the 55th Venice Biennale, curated by Massimiliano Gioni.

More
Albert Moser - © christian berst — art brut

Albert Moser

This American artist, autistic, lived most of his life with his parents, before joining the New Jersey foster home where he still lives. Moser first gained recognition for his tinkered photographic panoramas, then for his psychedelic geometric designs. But whatever the medium, his work testifies to the same obsession with space. They report, in their own way, the vertigo through which he tries to find his place in the world. Exhibited in 2019 at the Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles, his work is as well in the collections of Antoine de Galbert (France) and Treger Saint Silvestre (Portugal).

More
portrait of john devlin - © christian berst — art brut

John Devlin

John Devlin was only 25 years old when he left Canada to study theology at Cambridge and set himself on the path to priesthood. Although he adored Cambridge, he had to return and abandon his ecclesiastical dreams because of a psychotic disorder. He thus devoted his life to drawing his own Nova Cantabrigiensis, an idealized Cambridge that became both a symbolic projection and a healing protocol. Once his great work - developed in secret - was discovered in the late 1980s, he was the subject of numerous exhibitions and publications including the Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles for the iconic exhibition Photo Brut.

More
Press review
L’outsider art fair à Paris
Eric Tariant, Journal Des Arts. October 31, 2013.
Humains, traits humains
Lorraine Rossignol, Télérama Sortir N° 3328. October 23, 2013.
L’Outsider art fair à Paris
Eric Tariant, Le Journal Des Arts. October 18, 2013.
outsider art fair

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie participe à la première édition parisienne de ce salon new-yorkais né en 1993 en exposant Guo Fengyi, José Johann Seinen, Albert Moser, Josef Hofer et John Devlin.

Hotel Le A, rue d’Artois, 75008, Paris

Artistes
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

En savoir plus
guo fengyi dessinant - © christian berst — art brut

Fengyi Guo

En vivant sa spiritualité à travers les voies du qi qong, c’est à l’aube de ses 40 ans que Guo Fengyi se met à réinterpréter les croyances populaires chinoises dans des dessins réalisés à l’encre et au pinceau. Sur des rouleaux de papier de riz, pouvant atteindre les 10 mètres, se déploient des entités relavant tantôt du panthéon, tantôt du pandémonium, et qui semblent flotter dans un vide spatio-temporel. Ces rouleaux hérétiques ont notamment été exposés lors de la 55e Biennale de Venise curatoriée Massimiliano Gioni.

En savoir plus
Albert Moser - © christian berst — art brut

Albert Moser

Cet artiste américain, autiste, a vécu la majeure partie de sa vie chez ses parents, avant de rejoindre le foyer d’accueil du New Jersey où il vit encore. Moser a d’abord obtenu la reconnaissance pour ses panoramas photographiques bricolés, puis pour ses dessins géométriques aux relents psychédéliques. Mais quel soit le médium, ses travaux témoignent de la même obsession de l’espace. Ils rendent compte, à leur manière, du vertige au travers duquel il tente de trouver sa place dans le monde. Exposé en 2019 aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles, son travail fait notamment partie des collections d’Antoine de Galbert (France), ou encore Treger Saint Silvestre (Portugal).

En savoir plus
portrait de john devlin - © christian berst — art brut

John Devlin

Lorsque John Devlin quitte le Canada pour étudier la théologie à Cambridge il n’a que 25 ans et se destine alors à la prêtrise. En adoration devant Cambridge il doit cependant rentrer et abandonner ses rêves ecclésiastiques en raison de troubles psychotiques. Il consacre alors sa vie à concevoir des plans de sa propre Nova Cantabrigiensis, soit une Cambridge idéalisée qui devient à la fois une projection symbolique et un protocole curatif. Après que son grand oeuvre - élaboré dans le secret - fut découvert à la fin des années 1980, il a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et publications dont, en 2019, les Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles pour l’exposition iconique Photo Brut.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
L’outsider art fair à Paris
Eric Tariant, Journal Des Arts. Le 31 octobre 2013.
Humains, traits humains
Lorraine Rossignol, Télérama Sortir N° 3328. Le 23 octobre 2013.
L’Outsider art fair à Paris
Eric Tariant, Le Journal Des Arts. Le 18 octobre 2013.
outsider art fair

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.