christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

We are very pleased to participate in the # 14 edition of Drawing Now Paris art fair.

On our booth, you will be able to discover a selection of works by our focus artist: Momoko Nakagawa, 24 years old Japanese artist, who last autumn received the Art Absolument prize.

Also on display will be drawings by Marilena Pelosi, a major figure in contemporary art brut, encrypted prayers by Jill Gallieni, and a set of drawings by an exceptional Colombian artist recently discovered and shown to the public for the first time, Carlos Augusto Giraldo.

An emblematic 1927 work by Aldolf Wölfli was chosen by the selection committee of “Master Now”.

A booklet presenting all these works can be consulted online on request.

Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
momoko - © christian berst — art brut
Momoko Nakagawa momoko, 2017
29.92 x 21.26 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Marilena Pelosi untitled, 2016
11.81 x 8.27 in
untitled (prayor to Mary) - © christian berst — art brut
Jill Gallieni untitled (prayor to Mary), 2014
9.45 x 12.6 in
Artists
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Marilena Pelosi

At a very young age, Marilena Pelosi began to make drawings in which exuberant Catholicism and feverish Macumba, from her native Brazil, swirled to the point of delirium. The reminiscence of trance, eucharistic processions and carnivals are inextricably combined with much more intimate evocations. Now living in Normandy, she continues these same disturbing drawings, made with ballpoint pens, in which doll-women are both executioners and victims. Entering the BIC collection (France) in 2019, she is represented in major collections, including those of Hannah Rieger (Austria), Amr Shaker (Switzerland), and Dino Menozzi (Italy).

More
portrait of jill gallieni - © christian berst — art brut

Jill Gallieni

Jill Gallieni is as discreet and mysterious as are the prayers she lays on paper. Indeed, these prayers can only be addressed to the saints they invoke, for they are intentionally rendered unreadable. Cryptic writing par excellence, where absence is made visible, her work plunges us into a deep anchorite universe. For more than 10 years, the gallery has represented this French artist, whose works are as well part of major European collections of art brut such as that of the Museum of LaM (France), of art brut in Lausanne (Switzerland) or even of the Hannah Rieger collection (Austria).

More
adolf wölfli - © christian berst — art brut

Adolf Wölfli

He is the emblematic figure of 20th century art brut, author of more than 1,500 drawings and of a 25,000-page biography. He has built a personal and complex universe, where he reinvents his past and projects a utopian future, colonized to the edge of space. The richness and excess of this work cause vertigo. The list of artists he fascinates is long (among them Jean Dubuffet, Annette Messager, Arnulf Rainer), and an echo to his presence in the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France), Prinzhorn collection (Germany), and the LaM (France). As André Breton pointed out, this is “one of the three or four major works of the 20th century.”

More
Momoko Nakagawa - © christian berst — art brut

Momoko Nakagawa

A member of the Yamanami workshop (Shiga, Japan) since 2015, Momoko Nakagawa has been doing, in a broad and regular gesture, a serial and calibrated work on writing, moving from the undulating of colored frequencies to stamping numbers in coffee halos. Evoking lyrical abstraction, the young artist’s work “combines gestural spontaneity, calligraphic elegance, serialized repetition, and formal inventiveness,” as Raphael Koenig writes in the dossier devoted to her by Artpress (2020). Her work was exhibited for the first time in 2019 at Harvard University, and then, that same year, at the gallery as part of the choral exhibition japon brut: la lune, le soleil, yamanami.

More
Carlos Augusto Giraldo - © christian berst — art brut

Carlos Augusto Giraldo

Ever since he was a child, Carlos Giraldo has been feverishly recording his syncretic visions in drawings that combine Egyptian antiquity with anatomical treatises, the prophecies of Nostradamus with pre-Columbian civilisations, or World War II and the Simpsons. That’s when he’s not busy listing precise and detailed data about the Titanic. In Bogota, where he lives in an apartment with his parents, this Asperger’s sufferer is busy with his encyclopaedic task. Setting down his treatises on sheets of tracing paper or fine paper which he sometimes assembles into codexes, Giraldo is giving form not to one, but to myriad individual mythologies, each more fascinating than the next.

More
Press review
paris capitale du dessin, une alchimie à réinventer
Alison Moss, Raphael Pic, Le Quotidien De L’art. March 30, 2020.
drawing now brave la tempête
Alexia Lanta Maestrati, Le Journal Des Arts . March 13, 2020.
honneur au dessin contemporain
Fanny Drugeon, L’objet D’art. March 5, 2020.
drawing now 2020

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Nous sommes très heureux de participer à l’édition # 14 de Drawing Now Paris.

Sur notre stand vous pourrez découvrir une sélection d’œuvres de notre artiste focus : Momoko Nakagawa, japonaise de 24 ans, qui en automne dernier recevait le prix Art Absolument.

Seront également exposés les dessins Marilena Pelosi, figure majeure de l’art brut contemporain, des prières cryptées de Jill Gallieni, et un ensemble de dessins d’un artiste colombien exceptionnel récemment découvert et pour la première fois montré au public, Carlos Augusto Giraldo.

Tandis qu’une oeuvre emblématique de 1927 d’Aldolf Wölfli a été retenue par le comité de sélection pour jalonner le parcours “Master Now”.

Un livret de présentation de toutes ces œuvres peut être consulté en ligne sur simple demande de votre part.

Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
momoko - © christian berst — art brut
Momoko Nakagawa momoko, 2017
76.9 x 54.4 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Marilena Pelosi sans titre, 2016
30 x 21 cm
sans titre (prière à Marie) - © christian berst — art brut
Jill Gallieni sans titre (prière à Marie), 2014
24 x 32 cm
Artistes
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Marilena Pelosi

Très jeune, Marilena Pelosi commence à produire des dessins, dans lesquels le catholicisme exubérant et la macumba fiévreuse de son Brésil natal, tournoient jusqu’au délire. La réminiscence de transes, de processions eucharistiques et de carnavals sont inextricablement mêlés à des évocations bien plus intimes. Aujourd’hui retirée en Normandie, elle continue à produire ces mêmes dessins troublants, faits au stylo à bille, dans lesquels des femmes-poupées sont à la fois bourreaux et victimes. Entrée dans la collection BIC (France) en 2019, elle figure dans des collections majeures, parmi lesquelles celles d’Hannah Rieger (Autriche), Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou de Dino Menozzi (Italie).

En savoir plus
portrait de jill gallieni - © christian berst — art brut

Jill Gallieni

Jill Gallieni est aussi discrète et mystérieuse que le sont les prières qu’elle couche sur le papier et dont l’adresse ne peut se manifester qu’aux saintes qui y sont invoquées. En effet, celles-ci nous sont rendues intentionnellement illisibles. Ecriture cryptique par excellence, absence rendue visible, son oeuvre nous plonge alors dans un anachorétisme profond. Représentée depuis plus de 10 ans par la galerie, cette artiste française fait partie des grandes collections d’art brut européennes comme celles du musée du LaM (France), de l’art brut de Lausanne (Suisse) ou encore la collection d’Hannah Rieger (Autriche).

En savoir plus
adolf wölfli - © christian berst — art brut

Adolf Wölfli

Il est la figure emblématique de l’art brut du XXe siècle, auteur de plus de 1500 dessins et d’une biographie de 25 000 pages. Il a construit un univers personnel et complexe, où il réinvente son passé et projette un avenir utopique, colonisé jusqu’aux confins de l’espace. La richesse et la démesure de cet œuvre provoquent le vertige. La liste des artistes qu’il fascine est longue (parmi eux Jean Dubuffet, Annette Messager, Arnulf Rainer), à l’image de sa présence dans les collections : musée national d’art moderne (France), collection Prinzhorn (Allemagne), LaM (France). Comme le soulignait André Breton, c’est là « une des trois ou quatre œuvres capitales du XXe siècle ».

En savoir plus
Momoko Nakagawa - © christian berst — art brut

Momoko Nakagawa

Membre de l’atelier Yamanami (Japon), depuis 2015, Momoko Nakagawa effectue, d’un geste ample et régulier, un travail sériel et calibré sur l’écriture, passant de l’ondoiement de fréquences colorées au tamponnage de chiffres dans des halos de café. Évoquant l’abstraction lyrique, le travail de cette jeune artiste « combine spontanéité gestuelle, élégance calligraphique, répétition sérielle et inventivité formelle », comme l’écrit Raphaël Koenig, dans le dossier qui lui est consacré par Artpress (2020). Exposée pour la première fois en 2019, à l’Université de Harvard, puis, cette même année, à la galerie dans le cadre de l’exposition chorale japon brut : la lune, le soleil, yamanami.

En savoir plus
Carlos Augusto Giraldo - © christian berst — art brut

Carlos Augusto Giraldo

Depuis l’enfance, Carlos Giraldo consigne fiévreusement ses visions syncrétiques qui mêlent l’antiquité égyptienne aux traités anatomiques, les prédictions de Nostradamus aux civilisations précolombiennes, la seconde guerre mondiale aux Simpsons. Quand il n’est pas occupé à inventorier les données précises et détaillées du Titanic. À Bogota, dans l’appartement qu’il occupe avec ses parents, cet autiste Asperger s’attelle à une tâche encyclopédique. Couchant ses traités sur des feuilles de calque ou des papiers fins qu’il assemble parfois en codex, Giraldo ne donne pas forme à une, mais à des myriades de mythologies individuelles, toutes plus fascinantes les unes que les autres.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
paris capitale du dessin, une alchimie à réinventer
Alison Moss, Raphael Pic, Le Quotidien De L’art. Le 30 mars 2020.
drawing now brave la tempête
Alexia Lanta Maestrati, Le Journal Des Arts . Le 13 mars 2020.
honneur au dessin contemporain
Fanny Drugeon, L’objet D’art. Le 5 mars 2020.
drawing now 2020

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.