christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

For its first participation at artgenève, the gallery will present (booth D22) an original dialogue between classical and contemporary art brut in one of the great countries of art brut, Switzerland.

The gallery’s show will include major figures Anna Zemánková, Carlo Zinelli, Josef Hofer and André Robillard, all of whom are part of La Collection de l’art brut - Josef Hofer is even the only artist to have had two monographic exhibitions in this institution.

exhibition view of the gallery's booth at *artgenève*, Palexpo, Geneva, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of the gallery's booth at *artgenève*, Palexpo, Geneva, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Carlo Zinelli untitled, 1967
19.69 x 27.56 in
Carlo Zinelli untitled, 1956
19.69 x 13.39 in
untitled (Fucked Fusil x 246 Anglais) - © christian berst — art brut
André Robillard untitled (Fucked Fusil x 246 Anglais), 1985
57.48 x 18.5 in
untitled (Fusil Chinois) - © christian berst — art brut
André Robillard untitled (Fusil Chinois), 1985
54.72 x 18.11 in
Anna Zemankova untitled, 1975
17.72 x 24.41 in
Josef Hofer untitled, 2013
23.62 x 17.32 in
Josef Hofer untitled, 2014
23.62 x 17.32 in
Josef Hofer untitled, 2013
11.42 x 16.54 in
Josef Hofer untitled, 2014
11.42 x 16.54 in
Artists
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Carlo Zinelli

Interned at 31 years old after participating in the Spanish Civil War, Carlo Zinelli is now seen as a major figure of art brut. Like tales illustrating episodes of his life before his internment, his iterative and dislocated drawings in which perspective is abandoned and replaced by interstitial writings seem to proclaim the concept of « modernity ». Honoured in many international exhibitions, Carlo Zinelli was exhibited in the Giardini at the 2013 Venice Biennale. A significant number of his works was donated to the Centre Pompidou in 2021.

More
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak. He draws. Tirelessly. In the metaphoric mirror that he uses and reaches out to us, people attempt to flee from the straitjacket of the frame with eroticized and untamed grace. His works - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between body and psyche. Present in numerous museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: A. de Galbert (France), A. Shaker (Switzerland) and even in the collection of A. Rainer (Austria), who considers him “one of the greatest of the brut contemporary artists.” A significant number of his works was donated to the Centre Pompidou collection in 2021 while the gallery became the owner of his estate in 2022.

More
andré robillard - © christian berst — art brut

André Robillard

Interned since his teens, André Robillard has built his life within the hospital. It was around the age of 30 that this French artist began to create rifles with materials found here and there. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet and encouraged by Michel Thévoz (then director of the Art Brut collection), he continues to create hybrid objects, from machine guns to Sputnik. André Robillard’s incredible story has participated to his international recognition. Present in the collections of the LaM (France), Whitworth (UK) or MAC’s (Belgium), he was particularly celebrated in the closing exhibition of la maison rouge (Paris) in 2018. A significant number of his works was donated to the Centre Pompidou in 2021.

More
anna zemankova - © christian berst — art brut

Anna Zemankova

It was in the early 60s that this humble Moravian began to produce work for which her condition had not prepared her, responding strikingly to injunctions from the depths. Thus, at a time when the demons of the night were still vying for the seminal iridescence of dawn, she would pick strange flowers in her mind, to make them protrude from the paper. “I grow flowers that don’t grow anywhere else”, she used to say. Anna Zemánková is already an established figure in the art brut, having been honored in 2013 at the 55th Venice Biennale, before a significant body of her work joined the collections of the Centre Pompidou, and the collections of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts in 2020. In 2024, his works will be presented for the second time at the Venice Biennale, curated by Adriano Pedrosa.

More
Press review
Art Genève souffle ses dix bougies
La Rédaction, Beaux Arts Magazine. February 25, 2022.
Video
artgenève 2022
artgenève

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie participe pour la première fois à artgenève du 3 au 6 mars 2022, en proposant (stand D22) un dialogue inédit entre art brut classique et art brut contemporain présenté dans l’une des grandes patries de l’art brut, la Suisse. La présentation de la galerie inclura les figures majeures Anna Zemánková, Carlo Zinelli, Josef Hofer et André Robillard, tous faisant partie de La Collection de l’art brut – Josef Hofer étant même le seul artiste à s’y être vu consacrer deux expositions monographiques.

Après l’annonce par le Centre Pompidou de l’ouverture d’une salle permanente consacrée à l’art brut assortie de l’entrée de plus de 900 œuvres au sein des collections du Musée national d’art moderne, le champ de l’art brut est à un tournant majeur. Le Musée national d’art moderne, le MoMA, le Metropolitan, la National Gallery ou la Biennale de Venise comptent déjà parmi les institutions ayant ouvert grand leurs portes aux artistes que nous représentons.

Par ailleurs, la multiplication des expositions, publications et recherches qui lui sont consacrés confirme qu’un chapitre décisif de l’histoire de l’art est en train de s’écrire. Nous sommes donc heureux que les salons comme la FIAC, Paris Photo et aujourd’hui artgenève prennent toute leur part à ce décloisonnement salué par le public et les collectionneurs.

vue du stand de la galerie à *artgenève*, Palexpo, Genève, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
vue du stand de la galerie à *artgenève*, Palexpo, Genève, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Carlo Zinelli sans titre, 1967
50.4 x 70 cm
Carlo Zinelli sans titre, 1956
50 x 34.8 cm
sans titre (Fucked Fusil x 246 Anglais) - © christian berst — art brut
André Robillard sans titre (Fucked Fusil x 246 Anglais), 1985
146 x 47 cm
sans titre (Fusil Chinois) - © christian berst — art brut
André Robillard sans titre (Fusil Chinois), 1985
139 x 46 cm
Anna Zemankova sans titre, 1975
45 x 62.6 cm
Josef Hofer sans titre, 2013
60 x 44 cm
Josef Hofer sans titre, 2014
60 x 44 cm
Josef Hofer sans titre, 2013
29.7 x 42 cm
Josef Hofer sans titre, 2014
29.6 x 42 cm
Artistes
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Carlo Zinelli

Interné définitivement à l’âge de 31 ans, après avoir participé à la guerre d’Espagne avec le contingent italien, Carlo Zinelli est aujourd’hui considéré comme une figure phare de l’art brut. Sortes de contes illustrant des épisodes ayant précédé son internement, ses dessins itératifs et disloqués dans lesquels la perspective est abolie au profit d’écritures interstitielles, semblent annoncer le concept de « modernité ». Mis à l’honneur dans nombre d’expositions internationales, Carlo Zinelli a été exposé au Giardini lors de la Biennale de Venise de 2013. Un ensemble important de ses œuvres a rejoint en 2021 les collections du Centre Pompidou.

En savoir plus
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les personnages tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreux musées, il compte parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles d’Antoine de Galbert (France), ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « l’un des plus grands artistes d’art brut contemporains ». Un ensemble important de ses œuvres a rejoint en 2021 les collections du Centre Pompidou, tandis que la galerie est devenue propriétaire de son estate en 2022.

En savoir plus
andré robillard - © christian berst — art brut

André Robillard

Interné depuis son adolescence, André Robillard a construit sa vie à l’hôpital. C’est vers l’âge de 30 ans que cet artiste français commence à créer des fusils avec des matériaux trouvés çà et là. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet et encouragé par Michel Thévoz (alors directeur de la collection de l’Art Brut), il continue à créer ses objets hybrides, des mitrailleuses au Spoutnik. L’histoire incroyable d’André Robillard lui a valu une reconnaissance internationale. Présent dans les collections du LaM (France), du Whitworth (Royaume-Uni) ou encore du MAC’s (Belgique), il a notamment été célébré dans l’exposition finale de la Maison rouge (Paris), en 2018. Un ensemble important de ses œuvres a rejoint en 2021 les collections du Centre Pompidou.

En savoir plus
anna zemankova - © christian berst — art brut

Anna Zemankova

Anna Zemánková est une figure déjà consacrée de l’art brut, au point qu’elle fut honorée en 2013 lors de la 55e biennale de Venise avant qu’un ensemble important de ses œuvres ne rejoigne les collections du Centre Pompidou. C’est dès le début des années 60 que cette humble Moravienne se mit à produire un œuvre auquel sa condition ne l’avait pas préparée et qui répondait de façon saisissante à des injonctions venues des tréfonds. Ainsi, à l’heure où les démons de la nuit le disputaient encore aux irisations séminales de l’aube, elle cueillait en pensée des fleurs étranges avant de les faire saillir du papier. « Je fais pousser des fleurs qui ne poussent nulle part ailleurs » disait-elle.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
Art Genève souffle ses dix bougies
La Rédaction, Beaux Arts Magazine. Le 25 février 2022.
Vidéo
artgenève 2022
artgenève

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.