christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Christian Berst has appointed Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge for the curation of its second space, the Bridge, from April 2 to May 15, 2022. The Danaids explore the relationship between relatively different artistic positions and their very particular relation to time. It brings together a group of international artists who have deliberately chosen slowness, precision and repetition as their artistic process.

With the works of : Nadine Fecht, Alexandro Garcia, Jürgen Krause, Masaki Mori, Momoko Nakagawa, Heinrich Reisenbauer, Jens Risch, Fiene Scharp, Thomas Sing, Bjarni H. Thorarinsson, Ignacio Uriarte.

the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
the danaids - © christian berst — art brut
Artists
heinrich reisenbauer - © gugging gallery, christian berst — art brut

Heinrich Reisenbauer

Born in 1938 in Kirchau (Austria), Reisenbauer arrived at the Gugging when, shortly after his years in high school, he was diagnosed with psychosis. After 30 years of hospitalization in a pavilion for chronic illness, he was invited, in 1986, to come live at the Gugging House of Artists near Vienna. His drawings, most often small and drawn with black and colored pencils, invariably offer an almost serigraphic repetition of a subject that varies in miniscule details. He displays the same obsessive concern for order and balance in the most trivial daily tasks. Thus, when he is charged with the distribution of fruit to the residents of the Maison, the exercise is transformed into a veritable[…]

More
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandro Garcia

The Uruguayan gardener, Alexandro García, began to transcribe his ethereal visions following an encounter of the third kind - or avistamiento - that he experienced as a child. Worthy heir to magical realism, however, he goes beyond its scope: he speaks to us of an elsewhere offered to our projections and to the colonization of a new humanity through inhabited and saturated architectures. Present notably in the abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (France), his work was shown in the exhibition Elévations in 2015, co-curated by Antoine de Galbert, and tribute to the Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, a fairy tale palace built by the postman Ferdinand Cheval in 1879.

More
portrait of jill gallieni - © christian berst — art brut

Jill Gallieni

Jill Gallieni is as discreet and mysterious as are the prayers she lays on paper. Indeed, these prayers can only be addressed to the saints they invoke, for they are intentionally rendered unreadable. Cryptic writing par excellence, where absence is made visible, her work plunges us into a deep anchorite universe. For more than 10 years, the gallery has represented this French artist, whose works are as well part of major European collections of art brut such as that of the Museum of LaM (France), of art brut in Lausanne (Switzerland) or even of the Hannah Rieger collection (Austria).

More
masaki mori - © yamanami, christian berst — art brut

Masaki Mori

Born on 1969, living in Shiga Prefecture, Japan. Has been participating in “Atelier Yamanami” since 2016. Masaki learned graphic design in a vocational school of design. While in school, he experienced 4’33”, the masterpiece of John Cage in his concert and became interested in experimental music of the United States. Afterwards, he started his own unique drawings with visualizing musical space in mind. Masaki produced “Jiuta (base songs)” Series based upon the expansion of space embodied by underground and Psychedelic rock and “Gig” Series expressing the visual image of deconstructed postmodern music represented by John Zorn, among others. Masaki loves Antonin Artaud, a poet, and admits[…]

More
Momoko Nakagawa - © christian berst — art brut

Momoko Nakagawa

A member of the Yamanami workshop (Shiga, Japan) since 2015, Momoko Nakagawa has been doing, in a broad and regular gesture, a serial and calibrated work on writing, moving from the undulating of colored frequencies to stamping numbers in coffee halos. Evoking lyrical abstraction, the young artist’s work “combines gestural spontaneity, calligraphic elegance, serialized repetition, and formal inventiveness,” as Raphael Koenig writes in the dossier devoted to her by Artpress (2020). Her work was exhibited for the first time in 2019 at Harvard University, and then, that same year, at the gallery as part of the choral exhibition japon brut: la lune, le soleil, yamanami.

More
Catalog
the danaids curator : jan-philipp fruehsorge
les danaïdes, commissaire jan-philipp fruehsorge - © christian berst — art brut

Text : Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge
Catalog published to mark the exhibition les danaïdes : obsessive drawings, curator : Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge, from April 2 to May 15, 2022 at the bridge by christian berst.

This catalog will be available at the gallery on April 12, 2022.

Video
the danaids, by Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge
the danaids

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Christian Berst a confié le commissariat d’exposition de son second espace The Bridge à Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge, du 2 avril au 15 mai 2022. Les Danaïdes explore les relations entre des positions artistiques différentes et leur rapport très particulier au temps. Elle réunit un groupe d’artistes internationaux qui ont délibérément choisi la lenteur, la précision et la répétition comme processus artistique.

Avec les œuvres de : Nadine Fecht, Jill Gallieni, Alexandro Garcia, Jürgen Krause, Masaki Mori, Momoko Nakagawa, Heinrich Reisenbauer, Jens Risch, Fiene Scharp, Thomas Sing, Bjarni H. Thorarinsson, Ignacio Uriarte.

les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
les danaïdes - © christian berst — art brut
Artistes
heinrich reisenbauer - © galerie gugging, christian berst — art brut

Heinrich Reisenbauer

Né en 1938 à Kirchau (Autriche), Reisenbauer arriva à Gugging lorsque, peu après ses années de lycée, on diagnostiqua une psychose. Après 30 ans d’internement dans un pavillon pour malades chroniques, il fut invité, en 1986, à venir s’établir dans la Maison des artistes. Ses dessins, le plus souvent des petits formats réalisés aux crayons noir et de couleur, offrent invariablement une répétition quasi sérigraphique du sujet qui se distingue par d’infimes nuances. Il manifeste le même souci obsessionnel d’ordre et d’équilibre dans les tâches les plus quotidiennes. Ainsi, lorsqu’on lui confie la distribution des fruits aux pensionnaires de la Maison, l’exercice se transforme en véritable «[…]

En savoir plus
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandro Garcia

Jardinier uruguayen, Alexandro García s’est mis à retranscrire ses visions éthérées à la suite d’une rencontre du 3e type – ou avistamiento – dont il a fait l’expérience, enfant. Digne héritier du réalisme magique, il en dépasse cependant le cadre et nous parle d’un ailleurs offert à nos projections et à la colonisation d’une humanité nouvelle aux travers d’architectures habitées et saturées. Présent notamment dans la collection abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) son travail a été montré dans l’exposition hommage au palais idéal du facteur cheval élévations co-curatoriée par Antoine de Galbert en 2015.

En savoir plus
portrait de jill gallieni - © christian berst — art brut

Jill Gallieni

Jill Gallieni est aussi discrète et mystérieuse que le sont les prières qu’elle couche sur le papier et dont l’adresse ne peut se manifester qu’aux saintes qui y sont invoquées. En effet, celles-ci nous sont rendues intentionnellement illisibles. Ecriture cryptique par excellence, absence rendue visible, son oeuvre nous plonge alors dans un anachorétisme profond. Représentée depuis plus de 10 ans par la galerie, cette artiste française fait partie des grandes collections d’art brut européennes comme celles du Musée national d’Art moderne (Pompidou), du musée du LaM (France), de l’art brut de Lausanne (Suisse) ou encore la collection d’Hannah Rieger (Autriche).

En savoir plus
masaki mori - © yamanami, christian berst — art brut

Masaki Mori

Né en 1969, vit dans la préfecture de Shiga, Japon. Assiste à l’“Atelier Yamanami” depuis 2016. Masaki a appris le design graphique dans une école professionnelle. Alors qu’il était à l’école, il a découvert 4’33, le chef-d’oeuvre de John Cage en concert et s’est alors intéressé à la musique expérimentale des États-Unis. Par la suite, il a commencé à produire des dessins uniques dans le but de visualiser l’espace musical. Masaki a produit la série « Jiuta (chants de base) » fondée sur l’expansion de l’espace incarnée par le rock underground et psychédélique et la série « Gig » exprimant l’image visuelle de la musique postmoderne déconstruite représentée par John Zorn, entre autres. Masaki[…]

En savoir plus
Momoko Nakagawa - © christian berst — art brut

Momoko Nakagawa

Membre de l’atelier Yamanami (Japon), depuis 2015, Momoko Nakagawa effectue, d’un geste ample et régulier, un travail sériel et calibré sur l’écriture, passant de l’ondoiement de fréquences colorées au tamponnage de chiffres dans des halos de café. Évoquant l’abstraction lyrique, le travail de cette jeune artiste « combine spontanéité gestuelle, élégance calligraphique, répétition sérielle et inventivité formelle », comme l’écrit Raphaël Koenig, dans le dossier qui lui est consacré par Artpress (2020). Exposée pour la première fois en 2019, à l’Université de Harvard, puis, cette même année, à la galerie dans le cadre de l’exposition chorale japon brut : la lune, le soleil, yamanami.

En savoir plus
Catalogue
les danaïdes commissaire : jan-philipp fruehsorge
les danaïdes, commissaire jan-philipp fruehsorge - © christian berst — art brut

Texte : Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition les danaïdes : obsessive drawings, commissaire : Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge, du 2 avril au 15 mai 2022 à the bridge by christian berst.

Vidéo
les danaïdes, par Jan-Philipp Fruehsorge
les danaïdes

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.