christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

For this new edition of Drawing Now, which will be held in Paris from May 19 to 22, 2022, the gallery will present - booth A8 - artworks by Misleidys Castillo Pedroso, Anton Hirschfeld and Royal Robertson.

The artists presented turn the codes of drawing upside down. Indeed, the privileged place given to the palette or to writing tends to redefine the very technique of this medium. By choosing to present the works of Anton Hirschfeld (29 years old) in the artist’s focus and those of Misleidys Castillo Pedroso (37 years old) in the masterpieces section, the gallery is highlighting the most contemporary fringe of art brut. Royal Robertson (1930-1997), already part of the most important collections, such as the Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Washington D.C.), is today considered a classical artist of American art brut.

view of the christian berst art brut gallery booth A8, drawing now art fair, le carreau du temple, Paris, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
view of the christian berst art brut gallery booth A8, drawing now art fair, le carreau du temple, Paris, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
view of the christian berst art brut gallery booth A8, drawing now art fair, le carreau du temple, Paris, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2021
28.74 x 14.96 in
Anton Hirschfeld untitled, 2018
19.69 x 25.59 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Royal Robertson untitled, 1990
22.05 x 27.95 in
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2016
9.06 x 14.17 in
Anton Hirschfeld untitled (Paris bridge), 2017
19.69 x 25.59 in
Royal Robertson untitled, 1995
22.05 x 27.95 in
Artists
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson

Royal Robertson spent most of his life in Louisiana with his wife and eleven children. A sign painter by training, his paranoid schizophrenia triggers in him a prodigious creative fever. Ethereal ascents, portraits of deities, futuristic architectures alike “show houses” of a world to come, it is as if he had descended from his planet, carrying his own Tablets of Law. Featured in countless international collections, such as the Smithsonian Museum of American Art (USA), his work was presented in 2018-19 in the travelling exhibition Into The Unknown, produced by the Barbican (London) and curated by Patrick Gyger.

More
portrait of misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

This Cuban artist has no other means of expression than that of her creation. The walls of her home, where she lives with her mother, are covered with drawings of bodybuilders, brown tape scattered along the outlines. A true community of men, women, hermaphrodites and wildlife, Misleidys has built her sociality through her work. Discovered by the gallery in 2014, she has been featured in more than 10 international exhibitions since 2018, including New Images of Man in Los Angeles, Flying High in Vienna, and Independent in New York. Acclaimed by Matthew Higgs and Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), the artist has been the subject of recent reviews in the New York Times and Art in America.

More
Anton Hirschfeld - © christian berst — art brut

Anton Hirschfeld

Discovered thanks to the writer Nancy Huston, he is one of the youngest artists represented by the gallery. With his cursive writing, Anton Hirschfeld meshes lists of names, playlists or guests in processional columns, to form the unexpected frame of his works. As if the pastel, acrylic and ink that cover them were ordered according to secret links. First presented to the public in 2017 at the gallery, he is the subject of a documentary which is expected to be released in 2021.

More
Press review
Retour du Salon du dessin contemporain
Roger Pierre Turine, La Libre Belgique. May 25, 2022.
Drawing Now Art Fair : c’est maintenant !
Sarah Belmont & Alison Moss, Le Quotidien De L’art. May 18, 2022.
Drawing Now Art Fair
La Rédaction, Parisart. May 17, 2022.
La saison des foires repart en force
La Rédaction, Le Journal Des Arts. May 17, 2022.
drawing now

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Pour cette nouvelle édition du Salon du dessin contemporain, qui se tiendra à Paris du 19 au 22 mai 2022, la galerie présentera - stand A8 - les œuvres de Misleidys Castillo Pedroso, Anton Hirschfeld et Royal Robertson.

Les artistes présentés bouleversent les codes du dessin. En effet, la place privilégiée laissée à la palette ou à l’écriture tendent à redéfinir la technique même de ce médium. En choisissant de présenter en artiste focus les œuvres d’Anton Hirschfeld (29 ans) et dans le parcours masterpieces celles de Misleidys Castillo Pedroso (37 ans) la galerie met en lumière la frange la plus contemporaine de l’art brut. Royal Robertson (1930-1997), déjà présent dans les plus grandes collections, comme celle du Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Washington D.C), est, quant à lui, aujourd’hui considéré comme un artiste classique de l’art brut américain.

vue du stand A8 de la galerie christian berst art brut, drawing now art fair, le carreau du temple, Paris, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
vue du stand A8 de la galerie christian berst art brut, drawing now art fair, le carreau du temple, Paris, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
vue du stand A8 de la galerie christian berst art brut, drawing now art fair, le carreau du temple, Paris, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2021
73.5 x 38 cm
Anton Hirschfeld sans titre, 2018
50 x 65 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Royal Robertson sans titre, 1990
56 x 71.3 cm
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2016
23.7 x 36.5 cm
Anton Hirschfeld sans titre (pont sur Seine), 2017
50 x 65 cm
Royal Robertson sans titre, 1995
56 x 71 cm
Artistes
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson

Royal Robertson a passé la majeure partie de sa vie en Louisiane, avec sa femme et leurs onze enfants. Peintre d’enseigne de formation, sa schizophrénie paranoïde déclenche en lui une prodigieuse fièvre créatrice. Ascensions éthérées, portraits de divinités, architectures futuristes pareilles à des « maisons témoin » d’un monde à venir, c’est comme s’il était descendu de sa planète, chargé de ses propres tables de la loi. Figurant dans d’innombrables collections internationales, comme le Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Etats-Unis), son œuvre a été présenté, en 2018-19, dans l’exposition itinérante Into The Unknown, produite par le Barbican (Londres) et curatoriée par Patrick Gyger. 

En savoir plus
portrait de misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

Cette artiste cubaine n’a d’autre moyen d’expression que celui de sa création. Vivant avec sa mère, elle recouvre leurs murs de ses personnages aux corps bodybuildés, auréolés de scotch brun. Véritable communauté constituée d’hommes, de femmes, d’hermaphrodites et de faunes à travers laquelle Misleidys a construit sa socialité. Découverte par la galerie en 2014, elle a été présentée dans plus de 10 expositions internationales depuis 2018 dont New Images of Man à Los Angeles, Flying High à Vienne, Independent à New York. Plébiscitée par Matthew Higgs et Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), elle a fait l’objet de récentes recensions dans le New York Times et Art in America.

En savoir plus
Anton Hirschfeld - © christian berst — art brut

Anton Hirschfeld

Découvert grâce à l’entremise de l’écrivaine Nancy Huston, il est l’un des plus jeunes artistes représentés par la galerie. De son écriture cursive, Anton Hirschfeld maille des listes de noms, de playlists ou d’invités en colonnes processionnelles, pour former la trame inattendue de ses œuvres. Comme si le pastel, l’acrylique et l’encre qui les recouvrent, s’ordonnançaient selon ces liens secrets. Présenté pour la première fois au public en 2017, à la galerie, il a fait l’objet d’un documentaire dont la sortie devrait être annoncée pour 2021.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
Retour du Salon du dessin contemporain
Roger Pierre Turine, La Libre Belgique. Le 25 mai 2022.
Drawing Now Art Fair : c’est maintenant !
Sarah Belmont & Alison Moss, Le Quotidien De L’art. Le 18 mai 2022.
Drawing Now Art Fair
La Rédaction, Parisart. Le 17 mai 2022.
La saison des foires repart en force
La Rédaction, Le Journal Des Arts. Le 17 mai 2022.
drawing now

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.