christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Works by Royal Robertson, Marilena Pelosi, Joseph Hofer and Luboš Plný are exhibited from 10 to 14 April 2008 at the Carreau du Temple in Paris on the occasion of the Salon du Dessin Contemporain.

Artists
Luboš Plný - © Ⓒ Mario del Curto, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

A prominent figure in contemporary art brut, this Czech artist is fascinated by medical iconography. An expert in the mysteries of anatomy, he devotes himself – when not drawing – to all sorts of performances reminiscent of the actionists. By testing the limits of physical existence, he conjures up death and sublimates life in its most organic form. His extremely detailed works in Indian ink and acrylic entered the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) in 2013, then in 2021 thanks to the Bruno Decharme donation, and were notably exhibited on several occasions at the Maison Rouge, in Japan and at the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

More
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Marilena Pelosi

At a very young age, Marilena Pelosi began to make drawings in which exuberant Catholicism and feverish Macumba, from her native Brazil, swirled to the point of delirium. The reminiscence of trance, eucharistic processions and carnivals are inextricably combined with much more intimate evocations. Now living in Normandy, she continues these same disturbing drawings, made with ballpoint pens, in which doll-women are both executioners and victims. Entering the BIC collection (France) in 2019, she is represented in major collections, including those of Hannah Rieger (Austria), Amr Shaker (Switzerland), and Dino Menozzi (Italy).

More
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson

Royal Robertson spent most of his life in Louisiana with his wife and eleven children. A sign painter by training, his paranoid schizophrenia triggers in him a prodigious creative fever. Ethereal ascents, portraits of deities, futuristic architectures alike “show houses” of a world to come, it is as if he had descended from his planet, carrying his own Tablets of Law. Featured in countless international collections, such as the Smithsonian Museum of American Art (USA), his work was presented in 2018-19 in the travelling exhibition Into The Unknown, produced by the Barbican (London) and curated by Patrick Gyger.

More
salon du dessin contemporain

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer
Artistes
portrait de Lubos Plny - © © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Figure reconnue de l’art brut contemporain, cet artiste tchèque est fasciné par l’iconographie médicale. Expert des arcanes de l’anatomie, il s’adonne – lorsqu’il ne dessine pas - à toutes sortes de performances rappelant les actionnistes. En testant les limites de l’existence physique, il conjure la mort et sublime ainsi la vie dans ce qu’elle a de plus organique. Ses œuvres extrêmement détaillées à l’encre de Chine et à l’acrylique sont entrées en 2013 dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) et furent notamment exposées à plusieurs reprises à la Maison rouge puis lors de la biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

En savoir plus
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Marilena Pelosi

Très jeune, Marilena Pelosi commence à produire des dessins, dans lesquels le catholicisme exubérant et la macumba fiévreuse de son Brésil natal, tournoient jusqu’au délire. La réminiscence de transes, de processions eucharistiques et de carnavals sont inextricablement mêlés à des évocations bien plus intimes. Aujourd’hui retirée en Normandie, elle continue à produire ces mêmes dessins troublants, faits au stylo à bille, dans lesquels des femmes-poupées sont à la fois bourreaux et victimes. Entrée dans la collection BIC (France) en 2019, elle figure dans des collections majeures, parmi lesquelles celles d’Hannah Rieger (Autriche), Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou de Dino Menozzi (Italie).

En savoir plus
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson

Royal Robertson a passé la majeure partie de sa vie en Louisiane, avec sa femme et leurs onze enfants. Peintre d’enseigne de formation, sa schizophrénie paranoïde déclenche en lui une prodigieuse fièvre créatrice. Ascensions éthérées, portraits de divinités, architectures futuristes pareilles à des « maisons témoin » d’un monde à venir, c’est comme s’il était descendu de sa planète, chargé de ses propres tables de la loi. Figurant dans d’innombrables collections internationales, comme le Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Etats-Unis), son œuvre a été présenté, en 2018-19, dans l’exposition itinérante Into The Unknown, produite par le Barbican (Londres) et curatoriée par Patrick Gyger. 

En savoir plus
salon du dessin contemporain

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.