christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery participates in this new edition of the Contemporary Drawing Fair, from March 25 to 28, 2011 at the Carrousel du Louvre in Paris.

Artists
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

More
Raimundo Camilo - © christian berst — art brut

Raimundo Camilo

In a reminiscent of his past financial difficulties, Raimundo Camilo, a modest Brazilian worker interned in a psychiatric hospital, began drawing imaginary banknotes. Made of makeshift materials, such as wrapping papers and prints from the administration, he offered them to hospital staff, especially women. The artist who claimed not to make art, but simply “his duty” is today in the museum collections of LaM (France), at the Museu Oscar Niemeyer (Brazil) where he was exhibited with Bispo do Rosario, and in the private collection of the artist Arnulf Rainer (Austria).

More
portrait of dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Having become, in a decade, one of the most recognized contemporary brut artists, this autistic native of California is sometimes compared to Cy Twombly: while the latter deconstructs language, the former builds it. Since 2010, the gallery has contributed to its international recognition by organizing several exhibitions and publishing the only monograph available to date, enriched with an essay by Richard Leemann. Present in countless public and private collections - including those of the MoMA and Pompidou –, Dan Miller’s work was also part of the official selection of the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
patricia salen - © christian berst — art brut

Patricia Salen

After a decorative arts training, she met her double in 2005 and became “Pandora.” Pandora is like a carnal key, capable of opening the doors of time, but also the higher strata of consciousness. Her works, mostly in graphite on paper, bear witness to her temporal journeys and act in our eyes as vibratory fields. Her divinatory work - close to Zdenek Kosek in his cataclysmic perception - is already part of the collections of Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland), the Museum of Everything (Great Britain), and the Collection of Art Brut in Lausanne.

More
portrait of Malcolm Mc Kesson - © christian berst — art brut

Malcolm Mc Kesson

The force of Malcolm McKesson’s work – transgressive, liberated, born of an exalted urge – invites the subjugated viewer to contemplate an impression of the uncanny. The artist lays bare part of what is buried deep, guiding us to the heart of our own familiar terra incognita . Malcolm McKesson came to art by an unusual path. Born to a well-heeled New York family, he graduated from Harvard and worked for the family chemical company for twenty years before withdrawing from professional life in his forties. With the support of his wife, the poet Madeline Mason, he decided to devote himself to his art. He began covering sheets of paper with a ball-point pen, working on the shapes as if[…]

More
salon du dessin contemporain 2011

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie participe à la 5e édition du salon du dessin contemporain organisé cette année encore au carrousel du Louvre.
Sont présentés : peter kapeller, abdelarrazzac aouam, raimundo camilo, dan miller, josef hofer, malcolm mc kesson et patricia salen.

Artistes
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

En savoir plus
Raimundo Camilo - © christian berst — art brut

Raimundo Camilo

En réminiscence de ses difficultés financières passées, Raimundo Camilo, modeste travailleur brésilien qui était interné en hôpital psychiatrique, s’est mis à dessiner des billets de banque imaginaires. Faits de matériaux de fortune, papiers d’emballage et imprimés de l’administration il les offrait au personnel de l’hôpital et notamment aux femmes. L’artiste qui affirmait ne pas faire de l’art, mais simplement « son travail » est aujourd’hui dans les collection muséales du LaM (France), Bispo do Rosario avec lequel il a été exposé au Museu Oscar Niemeyer (Brésil) mais aussi dans la collection privée de l’artiste Arnulf Rainer (Autriche).

En savoir plus
portrait de dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Devenu, en une décennie, l’un des artistes bruts contemporains les plus reconnus, cet autiste originaire de Californie est parfois comparé à Cy Twombly, qui déconstruisait le langage tandis que, par effet de miroir, Dan Miller le construit. La galerie a participé, depuis 2010, à sa reconnaissance internationale en organisant plusieurs expositions et en publiant la seule monographie existant à ce jour, enrichie d’un essai de Richard Leemann. Présent dans d’innombrables collections publiques et privées – dont celles du MoMA et de Pompidou - il faisait également partie de la sélection officielle de la Biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
Patricia Salen - © christian berst — art brut

Patricia Salen

Bien qu’ayant suivi une formation aux Arts décoratifs, elle rencontre en 2005 son double et devient alors “Pandora”. Pandora est comme une clé charnelle, qui permettrait d’ouvrir les portes du temps, mais aussi des strates supérieures de la conscience. Ses travaux, le plus souvent au graphite sur papier, sont les témoins de ses voyages temporels et agissent à nos yeux comme des champs vibratoires. Son oeuvre divinatoire - proche de Zdenek Kosek dans sa perception cataclysmique - fait déjà partie des collections d’Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Suisse), du Museum of Everything (Grande-Bretagne) et de la collection de l’Art Brut de Lausanne.

En savoir plus
portrait de Malcolm Mc Kesson - © christian berst — art brut

Malcolm Mc Kesson

Diplômé de Harvard, Malcolm Mc Kesson faisait partie de la haute société du New Jersey. Passionné d’art, il dessinait, secrètement, des personnages fantomatiques et érotiques. Ce n’est qu’après la mort de sa femme, en 1990, qu’il accepte de dévoiler sa production fétichiste. Si ses dessins sont ambigus, les titres donnés, aux références sadomasochistes, ne laissent que peu de place à l’imagination. Exposé récemment dans vestiges & verse : notes from the newfangled epic, au American Folk Art Museum de New York, il est présent dans de prestigieuses collections, telles que la collection Prinzhorn (Allemagne), Antoine de Galbert (France) ou encore Treger Saint Silvestre (Portugal). 

En savoir plus
salon du dessin contemporain 2011

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.