christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery joins a dozen or so colleagues who, over the course of a weekend, take up residence in a French village to meet their collectors in a bucolic setting.

The wine castle and the gates of the town of Chassagne-Montrachet, in the middle of the vineyards of the Côte de Beaune, will be the scene of this 6th edition.

This weekend of contemporary art will be punctuated by convivial moments.

exhibited artists : Giovanni Bosco (Italy), John Devlin (Canada), Sebastian Ferreira (Paraguay), Alexandro Garcia (Uruguay) et Patricia Salen (France) se fondront dans ce décor champêtre.

Artists
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandro Garcia

The Uruguayan gardener, Alexandro García, began to transcribe his ethereal visions following an encounter of the third kind - or avistamiento - that he experienced as a child. Worthy heir to magical realism, however, he goes beyond its scope: he speaks to us of an elsewhere offered to our projections and to the colonization of a new humanity through inhabited and saturated architectures. Present notably in the abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (France), his work was shown in the exhibition Elévations in 2015, co-curated by Antoine de Galbert, and tribute to the Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, a fairy tale palace built by the postman Ferdinand Cheval in 1879.

More
portrait of giovanni bosco - © christian berst — art brut

Giovanni Bosco

The days of the Sicilian Giovanni Bosco were marked by popular Neapolitan songs and paintings of rare inventiveness that he performed on the walls of his city or on makeshift materials: dismembered or “overmembered” bodies, serpentes shapes and homunculus, cephalic hearts, words and signs punctuating the drawing’s interval. A colorist of the Sicilian streets, the artist is now part of prestigious collections, including those of Antoine de Galbert, abcd/Bruno Decharme (France), and Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal).

More
patricia salen - © christian berst — art brut

Patricia Salen

After a decorative arts training, she met her double in 2005 and became “Pandora.” Pandora is like a carnal key, capable of opening the doors of time, but also the higher strata of consciousness. Her works, mostly in graphite on paper, bear witness to her temporal journeys and act in our eyes as vibratory fields. Her divinatory work - close to Zdenek Kosek in his cataclysmic perception - is already part of the collections of Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland), the Museum of Everything (Great Britain), and the Collection of Art Brut in Lausanne.

More
sebastián ferreira - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Sebastián Ferreira

Ramiro Sebastian Ferreira Martinez de la Pera was born in Asuncion, Paraguay, in 1981. At the age of fifteen he was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia.  From a very young age he dreamed of becoming an architect, drawing numerous urban landscapes. He was fascinated by roads, buildings, traffic lights and buses, all of which he drew with great ease and skill. He worked on white paper, pencilling in the sheets completely with the horror vacui technique. His doctors concentrated on getting him to accept his illness and highlighted his artistic bent.  Ferreira’s favourite subjects then became cosmopolitan cities, which he reinvented by introducing pictures from postcards, magazines and the […]

More
portrait of john devlin - © christian berst — art brut

John Devlin

John Devlin was only 25 years old when he left Canada to study theology at Cambridge and set himself on the path to priesthood. Although he adored Cambridge, he had to return and abandon his ecclesiastical dreams because of a psychotic disorder. He thus devoted his life to drawing his own Nova Cantabrigiensis, an idealized Cambridge that became both a symbolic projection and a healing protocol. Once his great work - developed in secret - was discovered in the late 1980s, he was the subject of numerous exhibitions and publications including the Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles for the iconic exhibition Photo Brut.

More
Press review
L’art contemporain s’invite un weekend à la campagne
Le Bien Public. June 14, 2016.
Une partie de campagne

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie se joint à la dizaine de confrères qui, le temps d’un week-end, investit un village français pour y rencontrer ses collectionneurs dans un cadre bucolique. Le château viticole et les portes de la ville de Chassagne-Montrachet, au milieu des vignobles de la Côte de Beaune, seront le théâtre de cette 6e édition.

Un week-end d’art contemporain jalonné de moments conviviaux : cocktail de vernissage le vendredi, dîner au château le samedi soir, dégustation de crus locaux: Meursault, Puligny-Montrachet, Chassagne-Montrachet…

Giovanni Bosco (Italie), John Devlin (Canada), Sebastian Ferreira (Paraguay), Alexandro Garcia (Uruguay) et Patricia Salen (France) se fondront dans ce décor champêtre.

Artistes
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandro Garcia

Jardinier uruguayen, Alexandro García s’est mis à retranscrire ses visions éthérées à la suite d’une rencontre du 3e type – ou avistamiento – dont il a fait l’expérience, enfant. Digne héritier du réalisme magique, il en dépasse cependant le cadre et nous parle d’un ailleurs offert à nos projections et à la colonisation d’une humanité nouvelle aux travers d’architectures habitées et saturées. Présent notamment dans la collection abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) son travail a été montré dans l’exposition hommage au palais idéal du facteur cheval élévations co-curatoriée par Antoine de Galbert en 2015.

En savoir plus
portrait de giovanni bosco - © christian berst — art brut

Giovanni Bosco

Les journées du sicilien Giovanni Bosco furent rythmées par des chansons populaires napolitaines et des peintures d’une inventivité rare qu’il exécutait sur les murs de sa ville ou sur des matériaux de fortune : corps démembrés ou “surmembrés”, serpenteaux et homoncules, coeurs céphaliques, mots et signes scandés dans l’intervalle du dessin. Inventeur d’un langage plastique sans pareil, l’artiste fait aujourd’hui partie de prestigieuses collections dont celles d’Antoine de Galbert, abcd/Bruno Decharme (France), Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal) et Amr Shaker (Suisse).

En savoir plus
Patricia Salen - © christian berst — art brut

Patricia Salen

Bien qu’ayant suivi une formation aux Arts décoratifs, elle rencontre en 2005 son double et devient alors “Pandora”. Pandora est comme une clé charnelle, qui permettrait d’ouvrir les portes du temps, mais aussi des strates supérieures de la conscience. Ses travaux, le plus souvent au graphite sur papier, sont les témoins de ses voyages temporels et agissent à nos yeux comme des champs vibratoires. Son oeuvre divinatoire - proche de Zdenek Kosek dans sa perception cataclysmique - fait déjà partie des collections d’Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Suisse), du Museum of Everything (Grande-Bretagne) et de la collection de l’Art Brut de Lausanne.

En savoir plus
sebastián ferreira - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Sebastián Ferreira

Ramiro Sebastian Ferreira Martinez de la Pera est né à Asunción (Paraguay) en 1981. A l’âge de 15 ans, on lui diagnostique une schizophrénie paranoïde. Se rêvant architecte, il dessine dès son plus jeune âge multitude de paysages urbains et montre une fascination pour les routes, les bâtiments, les feux de circulation et les autobus, qu’il dessine avec une grande facilité. Il travaille sur papier blanc, qu’il remplit entièrement, parhorror vacui, de dessins au crayon noir. Les médecins travaillent alors beaucoup avec lui sur l’acceptation de sa maladie, et mettent en valeur sa fibre artistique. Ses sujets de prédilection deviennent les villes cosmopolites, qu’il réinvente en y introduisant […]

En savoir plus
portrait de john devlin - © christian berst — art brut

John Devlin

Lorsque John Devlin quitte le Canada pour étudier la théologie à Cambridge il n’a que 25 ans et se destine alors à la prêtrise. En adoration devant Cambridge il doit cependant rentrer et abandonner ses rêves ecclésiastiques en raison de troubles psychotiques. Il consacre alors sa vie à concevoir des plans de sa propre Nova Cantabrigiensis, soit une Cambridge idéalisée qui devient à la fois une projection symbolique et un protocole curatif. Après que son grand oeuvre - élaboré dans le secret - fut découvert à la fin des années 1980, il a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et publications dont, en 2019, les Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles pour l’exposition iconique Photo Brut.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
L’art contemporain s’invite un weekend à la campagne
Le Bien Public. Le 14 juin 2016.
Une partie de campagne

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.