christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Our new exhibition will be entrusted to the writer Nancy Huston, for whom this will be the first curation of an exhibition. She only accepted our proposal to take over the Bridge in September on the condition that she could develop the theme of the monster.

The monster is the other, the idiot, the unthinkable, the unthought of, but it is also the one who defies the norm and the laws of nature. Through the works of art brut and contemporary art chosen by Nancy Huston, the monster - whether fantasized or real - testifies to the persistence of ancestral fears and the strength of our imaginations.

“monster.
It grows. It grows inside me. It grows. I feel it. It is sensitive, sensual. It burns, moves, snorts. It is more beautiful, more alive, more powerful than me. Sometimes I try to resist him but he is irresistible. As soon as I open my mouth, he roars and it’s great: his roar resounds, ricochets, fills the universe, intoxicates me. When he emerges, he rips off my politeness like Superman rips off Clark Kent’s clothes. Triumphant, it absorbs me, appropriates me, assimilates me and abolishes me. It is a pleasure to be one with him. It devastates, shreds, crushes, it’s not me, it’s me, it’s me, it’s not me, it comes from before, it goes through me, it’s not my fault, it’s out of my fault, out of me, out of me.
Nancy Huston

Exhibited artists : Jorge Alberto Cadi, Hélène Delprat, José Manuel Egea, Eugène Gabritschevsky, Gérard Garouste, Anouk Grinberg, Tomasz Machciński, Gastineau Massamba, Michel Nedjar, Chloé Poizat, Cécile Raynal, Lionel Sabatté.

Monster - © christian berst — art brut
Monster - © christian berst — art brut
Monster - © christian berst — art brut
Monster - © christian berst — art brut
Monster - © christian berst — art brut
Monster - © christian berst — art brut
Artists
Michel Nedjar in his workshop - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

Though Frenchman Michel Nedjar is the most widely exhibited and published living representative of art brut, his extraordinary trajectory poses a rarely-adressed question – namely, the impermanence of art brut. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet when the latter was working on the resurgence of the symbolic body, Nedjar became the protean artist whom we know today and who embodies absolute freedom in creation. Present in countless collections, he is the first brut artist whose works were included in the collections of Beaubourg (France). Since 2008, he has had no fewer than six solo shows at such venues as Le Mahj (Paris), LaM (Lille), the Gugging Museum (Vienna), and the gallery.

More
portrait of eugene gabritschevsky - © christian berst — art brut

Eugène Gabritschevsky

Eugène Gabritschevsky was born in 1895 to a high aristocratic family in Moscow and enjoyed a significant career as a biologist before sinking into madness. His father, a bacteriologist, introduced him to science and Eugène became quickly known as a specialist in questions of heredity, working in the United States, then in Paris at the Institut Pasteur. Alongside his scientific work, the young man painted, in his spare time, expressionist-inspired works of art. At the onset of the Russian revolution, Eugène first showed signs of a larger behavioral disorder which would result in his commitment to the psychiatric hospital in Haar (near Munich), where he would remain until his death in 1979.[…]

More
portrait of josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

José Manuel Egea

Convinced of his magical ability to become a wolf, this young artist from Madrid is fascinated by the Kafkaesque metamorphosis found in the world of comics and mythology. As polymorphic as he is, his work consists of drawings, sculptures and performances, and urges us to accept our own repressed gifts for shape-shifting. Promoted by the gallery since 2016, he had a major show that same year by the Biennale de l’image possible in Liège, Belgium. His work is now part of several major European collections of contemporary art such as those of Antoine de Galbert, or Laurent Dumas.

More
Jorge Alberto Cadi - © christian berst — art brut

Jorge Alberto Cadi

In the streets of Havana, everyone knows Jorge Alberto Cadi as « El Buzo » - the diver - because he’s constantly searching material for his works in the city’s trash cans. Boltanskian by his memorial use of photography, Warholian by his taste for stitching images together, El Buzo always seeks to reveal what these photographs are hiding. The gallery showed his work for the first time ever in 2019; it will be introduced to a wider public in the second edition of Photo | Brut, a joint show hosted first by the Arles Rencontres photographiques, then by the Centrale and Botanique in Brussels in 2022.

More
Tomasz Machcinski - © christian berst — art brut

Tomasz Machcinski

At a very young age, Tomasz Machciński built an identity around an autograph, addressed to him by an actress he believed to be his mother. From this confusion, which lasted more than twenty years, a protean and personal mythology was born that reconstructs the artist. As the image of the Ovidian myth, or Gregor Samsa, Tomasz Machciński cannot be described. Indeed, his work consists of over 22 000 self-portraits of as many different physiognomies. Exhibited in 2019 at the Rencontres de la Photographie, his works are already part of the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the Museum of Photography in Krakow (Poland) as well as the collection abcd/Bruno Decharme.

More
Catalog
monster curator : Nancy Huston
monster - © christian berst — art brut

Text : Nancy Huston
Catalog published to mark the exhibition monster, curator : Nancy Huston, from September 11 to October 10, 2021 at the bridge by christian berst.

Press review
Nancy Huston – Monstre
Laurent Boudier, Télérama Sortir. September 21, 2021.
Video
monstre commissaire nancy huston
Monster

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Notre exposition de rentrée sera confiée à l’écrivaine Nancy Huston, dont ce sera le premier commissariat d’exposition. Celle-ci n’a accepté notre proposition d’investir le Bridge en septembre prochain qu’à la condition de pouvoir y développer le thème du monstre.

Le monstre, c’est l’autre, c’est l’idiot, l’impensable, l’impensé, mais c’est aussi celui qui défie la norme et les lois de la nature. À travers les œuvres d’art brut et d’art contemporain choisies par Nancy Huston, le monstre - qu’il soit fantasmé ou réel - témoigne de la persistance de peurs ancestrales et de la vigueur de nos imaginaires.

« monstre.
Il pousse. Il pousse en moi. Il grandit. Je le sens. C’est sensible, sensuel. Il brûle, bouge, s’ébroue. Il est plus beau plus vivant plus puissant que moi. Parfois j’essaie de lui résister mais il est irrésistible. À peine ai-je ouvert la bouche qu’il rugit et c’est génial : son rugissement résonne, ricoche, remplit l’univers, m’enivre. Quand il émerge, il arrache mes politesses tel Superman les oripeaux de Clark Kent. Triomphant, il m’absorbe, m’approprie, m’assimile et m’abolit. C’est jouissance de ne faire qu’un avec lui. Il dévaste, déchiquette, écrabouille, c’est pas moi c’est moi ce c’est c’est moi c’est pas moi ça vient d’avant ça me traverse c’est pas de ma faute c’est hors faute, hors hors hors de moi. »
Nancy Huston

Artistes exposés : Jorge Alberto Cadi, Hélène Delprat, José Manuel Egea, Eugène Gabritschevsky, Gérard Garouste, Anouk Grinberg, Gastineau Massamba, Michel Nedjar, Chloé Poizat, Lionel Sabatté, Cécile Raynal.

Artistes
Michel Nedjar dans son atelier - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

Il est l’artiste brut, vivant, le plus exposé et publié et pourtant la trajectoire extraordinaire de ce français pose une question rarement abordée : celle de l’impermanence de l’art brut. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, au moment où il travaille sur la résurgence du corps symbolique, il s’autorise alors à devenir l’artiste protéiforme que l’on connaît et qui, dans la création, incarne une absolue liberté. Présent dans d’innombrables collections, il est le premier « brut » à être entré dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (France). Depuis 2008 il s’est vu consacrer six expositions monographiques par Le Mahj (Paris), le LaM (Lille), le musée Gugging (Vienne) et la galerie.

En savoir plus
portrait d'eugene gabritschevsky - © christian berst — art brut

Eugène Gabritschevsky

Eugène Gabritschevsky, né en 1895 à Moscou dans la haute aristocratie russe, connait une carrière fulgurante en tant que biologiste avant de sombrer dans la folie. Son père, bactériologiste, l’initie à la science si bien qu’Eugène devient rapidement spécialiste de renom des questions d’hérédité, travaille aux États-Unis, puis à Paris à l’Institut Pasteur. Conjointement à son activité scientifique, le jeune homme peint, à ses heures perdues, des productions d’inspiration expressionniste. La révolution russe éclate et se manifestent ses premiers troubles du comportement qui le mènent 12 ans plus tard à l’hôpital psychiatrique de Haar (près de Munich) où il demeure jusqu’à son décès, en 1979.[…]

En savoir plus
portrait de josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

José Manuel Egea

Convaincu de sa lycanthropie, ce jeune artiste madrilène est fasciné par la métamorphose kafkaienne présente dans l’univers du comics et de la mythologie . Son œuvre, lui aussi polymorphe, constitué de dessins, sculptures et performances nous exhorte à accepter notre thérianthropie refoulée. Défendu par la galerie depuis 2016 il a fait l’objet, la même année, d’une vaste présentation lors de la Biennale de l’Image possible, à Liège. Il est désormais présent dans de grandes collections européennes comme celles d’Antoine de Galbert ou de Laurent Dumas (France).

En savoir plus
Jorge Alberto Cadi - © christian berst — art brut

Jorge Alberto Cadi

Dans les rues de La Havane, Jorge Alberto Cadi n’est connu que comme « El Buzo » - le plongeur-, constamment à la recherche de matériel pour ses œuvres, dans les poubelles de la ville. Boltanskien dans son usage mémoriel de la photographie, warholien lorsqu’il coud des greffons d’images entre eux, El Buzo cherche avant tout à révéler ce que les images cachent. Exposé pour la toute première fois en 2019, par la galerie, il sera présenté au grand public dans le 2e volet de Photo brut qui, après les rencontres photographiques d’Arles, sera accueilli à la Centrale et au Botanique, à Bruxelles, en 2022.

En savoir plus
Tomasz Machcinski - © christian berst — art brut

Tomasz Machcinski

Très jeune, Tomasz Machciński se construit une identité autour d’un autographe, qui lui a été adressé par une actrice qu’il imagine alors être sa mère. De cette confusion, qui a duré plus de vingt ans, est née une mythologie protéiforme et personnelle qui re-construit l’artiste. À l’image du mythe ovidien, ou de Gregor Samsa, Tomasz Machciński ne peut être décrit. En effet, son œuvre se compose de plus de 22 000 autoportraits d’autant de physionomies différentes. Exposées en 2019 aux Rencontres de la Photographie, ses œuvres font déjà partie des collections du Musée d’Art Moderne de Varsovie et du Musée de la Photographie de Cracovie (Pologne) ainsi que de la collection abcd/Bruno Decharme.

En savoir plus
Monstre

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.