christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

“Like the pilgrims who take the road to Compostela, Mecca or Benares, everyone should go to Hauterives at least once in their lives. The hills of the northern Drôme conceal a treasure fallen from the sky that always arouses emotion and surprise for those who discover it as well as for those who are familiar with it. It is the virtue of great works to renew the wonder when we are in their presence. If the story of Monsieur Cheval is well known, each time we visit his palace, the same magnetism operates and leaves the visitor bewitched as before the Moaï statues of Easter Island.

For those of us who are reluctant to wear a tie, putting on a Sunday suit was the least we could do to pay tribute to Joseph Ferdinand Cheval and his Ideal Palace.

On the occasion of this exhibition, the simple collectors - bearers of visions, shapes and colours - that we wanted to deposit as offerings a few works at the foot of this Lascaux of the “common men”, to use Jean Dubuffet’s expression. Both of us passionate about art brut, by what is commonly known as “works of madness” - a high and unbridled manifestation of the spirit, according to us -, we venerate this man who was for a long time considered mad but who is now recognized as a visionary. As an artist and apostle of diversity, he only knew the world from the postcards he distributed or from the photos in the newspaper l’Illustration. He dreamed of an ecumenical and cosmopolitan world.

For this exhibition - Elevations - we have chosen from our collections about a hundred works of art brut, popular or contemporary, which seemed to us to respond to the spirit of the postman. Many of them join the imaginary architectures - those of ACM, Fleury-Joseph Crépin, Eugène Gabritschevsky, Augustin Lesage, John Podhorsky, Elsa Sahal, Elmar Trenkwalder, Marcel Storr - while others - those of Janko Domsic, Rachel Kneebone, Stéphane Thibet, George Widener and Adolf Wölfli - to name but a few - rather echo mental or spiritual constructions, but all of them “rise” towards the sky. »

Bruno Decharme & Antoine de Galbert

Among the fifty or so artists exhibited, 15 are represented by the gallery.

Artists
portrait - © christian berst — art brut
Anibal Brizuela
Fernand Desmoulin - © christian berst — art brut
Fernand Desmoulin
Janko Domsic - © christian berst — art brut
Janko Domsic
portrait of eugene gabritschevsky - © christian berst — art brut
Eugène Gabritschevsky
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut
Alexandro Garcia
Madge Gill - © christian berst — art brut
Madge Gill
Peter Kapeller - © Photo : Florian Reese, christian berst — art brut
Peter Kapeller
Alexandre Lobanov - © christian berst — art brut
Alexandre Lobanov
Giovanni Battista Podesta - © christian berst — art brut
Giovanni Battista Podesta
george widener - © christian berst — art brut
George Widener
Scottie Louis Freeman Wilson - © christian berst — art brut
Scottie Louis Freeman Wilson
adolf wölfli - © christian berst — art brut
Adolf Wölfli
Elevations, Bruno Decharme & Antoine de Galbert Collections

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

À l’instar des pèlerins qui prennent le chemin de Compostelle, de La Mecque ou Bénarès, chacun devrait au moins une fois dans sa vie se rendre à Hauterives. Les collines du nord de la Drôme recèlent un trésor tombé du ciel qui suscite toujours émotion et surprise pour celui qui le découvre comme pour ceux qui en sont familiers. C’est la vertu des grandes œuvres de renouveler l’émerveillement quand nous sommes en leur présence. Si l’histoire de monsieur Cheval est bien connue, à chaque fois que l’on visite son palais, le même magnétisme opère et laisse le visiteur envoûté comme devant les statues Moaï de l’Île de Pâques.

Pour nous qui rechignons au port de la cravate, revêtir un habit de dimanche était le moins que nous puissions faire pour rendre hommage à Joseph Ferdinand Cheval et à son Palais Idéal. À l’occasion de cette exposition, les simples collectionneurs – passeurs de visions, de formes et de couleurs – que nous sommes avons désiré déposer en offrandes quelques œuvres au pied de ce Lascaux des « hommes du commun », selon l’expression de Jean Dubuffet. Passionnés l’un et l’autre d’art brut, par ce que le langage courant nomme « les œuvres de folie » – une manifestation élevée et débridée de l’esprit, selon nous –, nous vénérons cet homme longtemps jugé fada mais aujourd’hui reconnu comme un visionnaire. Artiste apôtre de la diversité, il ne connaissait du monde que les cartes postales qu’il distribuait ou les photos du journal l’Illustration. Il rêvait d’un monde œcuménique et cosmopolite.

Pour cette exposition – Élévations – nous avons choisi dans nos collections une centaine d’œuvres d’art brut, populaire ou contemporain, qui nous ont semblé répondre à l’esprit du facteur. Beaucoup se joignent aux architectures imaginaires – celles d’ACM, Fleury-Joseph Crépin, Eugène Gabritschevsky, Augustin Lesage, John Podhorsky, Elsa Sahal, Elmar Trenkwalder, Marcel Storr – tandis que d’autres – celles de Janko Domsic, Rachel Kneebone, Stéphane Thibet, George Widener et Adolf Wölfli pour ne citer qu’elles – font plutôt écho à des constructions mentales ou spirituelles, mais toutes « s’élèvent » vers le ciel.

Bruno Decharme

Antoine de Galbert

Parmis la cinquantaine d’artistes exposés, 15 sont représentés par la galerie.

Artistes
portrait - © christian berst — art brut
Anibal Brizuela
Fernand Desmoulin - © christian berst — art brut
Fernand Desmoulin
Janko Domsic - © christian berst — art brut
Janko Domsic
portrait d'eugene gabritschevsky - © christian berst — art brut
Eugène Gabritschevsky
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut
Alexandro Garcia
Madge Gill - © christian berst — art brut
Madge Gill
Peter Kapeller - © Photo : Florian Reese, christian berst — art brut
Peter Kapeller
Alexandre Lobanov - © christian berst — art brut
Alexandre Lobanov
Giovanni Battista Podesta - © christian berst — art brut
Giovanni Battista Podesta
george widener - © christian berst — art brut
George Widener
Scottie Louis Freeman Wilson - © christian berst — art brut
Scottie Louis Freeman Wilson
adolf wölfli - © christian berst — art brut
Adolf Wölfli
Elevations, collections Bruno Decharme & Antoine de Galbert

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.