christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

For this first edition of BAD + Bordeaux + Art + Design, which will be held on the banks of the Garonne, the gallery will present - booth R+1 46 - the works of Franco Bellucci, José Manuel Egea, Josef Hofer, Tomasz Machciński and Luboš Plný.

These five personal mythologies attest to a power relationship between the intimate and the universal, the body and the mind, analysis and projection. On the initiative of Jean Daniel Compain and Congrès Expositions Bordeaux, BAD+ will offer a very rich programme imagined by the most important local cultural institutions, art in vineyards and in the city, and, of course, the projects presented in Hangar 14 by nearly 70 eminent international galleries.

christian berst art brut, booth r+1 46 at BAD+, Hangar 14, Bordeaux, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
christian berst art brut, booth r+1 46 à BAD+, Hangar 14, Bordeaux, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
christian berst art brut, booth r+1 46 at BAD+, Hangar 14, Bordeaux, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
José Manuel Egea untitled, 2016
7.87 x 10.63 in
Tomasz Machcinski untitled, 2009
11.81 x 14.96 in
Franco Bellucci untitled, 2009
18.9 x 21.26 in
Josef Hofer untitled, 2015
11.42 x 16.54 in
Artists
Luboš Plný, 2011, Prague - © Ⓒ Mario del Curto, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

A prominent figure in contemporary art brut, this Czech artist is fascinated by medical iconography. An expert in the mysteries of anatomy, he devotes himself – when not drawing – to all sorts of performances reminiscent of the actionists. By testing the limits of physical existence, he conjures up death and sublimates life in its most organic form. His extremely detailed works in Indian ink and acrylic entered the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) in 2013, then in 2021 thanks to the Bruno Decharme donation, and were notably exhibited on several occasions at the Maison Rouge, in Japan and at the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak. He draws. Tirelessly. In the metaphoric mirror that he uses and reaches out to us, people attempt to flee from the straitjacket of the frame with eroticized and untamed grace. His works - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between body and psyche. Present in numerous museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: A. de Galbert (France), A. Shaker (Switzerland) and even in the collection of A. Rainer (Austria), who considers him “one of the greatest of the brut contemporary artists.” A significant number of his works was donated to the Centre Pompidou collection in 2021 while the gallery became the owner of his estate in 2022.

More
portrait de franco bellucci - © bargellini, christian berst — art brut

Franco Bellucci

A frequent visitor to the Blu Cammello workshop in Livorno, he was first discovered by the artist Riccardo Bargellini. The hybrid sculptures he produces are composed of assembled objects whose links are prominent. Observed through the prism of their transitional, fetishistic or apotropaic value, they have been presented in several major exhibitions such as the monograph dedicated to him at the MAD Museum in Liège, Banditi dell’arte (Halle Saint Pierre) and art brut, abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (Maison rouge) in Paris. “These works are invested with a symbolic power that many “professional” artists are unable to achieve.” (P. Dagen, Le Monde)

More
portrait of josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

José Manuel Egea

Convinced of his magical ability to become a wolf, this young artist from Madrid is fascinated by the Kafkaesque metamorphosis found in the world of comics and mythology. As polymorphic as he is, his work consists of drawings, sculptures and performances, and urges us to accept our own repressed gifts for shape-shifting. Promoted by the gallery since 2016, he had a major show that same year by the Biennale de l’image possible in Liège, Belgium. His work is now part of several major European collections of contemporary art such as those of Antoine de Galbert, or Laurent Dumas.

More
Tomasz Machcinski - © christian berst — art brut

Tomasz Machcinski

At a very young age, Tomasz Machciński built an identity around an autograph, addressed to him by an actress he believed to be his mother. From this confusion, which lasted more than twenty years, a protean and personal mythology was born that reconstructs the artist. As the image of the Ovidian myth, or Gregor Samsa, Tomasz Machciński cannot be described. Indeed, his work consists of over 22 000 self-portraits of as many different physiognomies. Exhibited in 2019 at the Rencontres de la Photographie, his works are already part of the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the Museum of Photography in Krakow (Poland) as well as the collection abcd/Bruno Decharme.

More
Press review
BAD+ : débuts encourageants pour le salon bordelais
Alison Moss, Le Quotidien De L’art. July 11, 2022.
Bons débuts pour BAD+ à Bordeaux
Alexandre Crochet, The Art Newspaper Daily. July 8, 2022.
BAD+, une nouvelle foire à Bordeaux
M.M., Connaissance Des Arts. July 7, 2022.
Salon BAD+ à Bordeaux : de l’art dans la ville et dans les vignes
La Rédaction, Ideat Contemporary Life. July 4, 2022.
Jean-Daniel Compain : Bordeaux peut devenir une nouvelle destination artistique mondiale
Rodolphe Martinez, France Bleu. July 3, 2022.
View more
BAD+, le nouveau rendez-vous bordelais
La Rédaction, La Gazette De L’hôtel Drouot. July 1, 2022.
BAD+, le nouveau rendez-vous bordelais
Sabrina Silamo, Ideat. July 1, 2022.
BAD+, le nouveau rendez-vous bordelais
Vanessa Schmitz-Grucker, La Gazette Drouot. June 29, 2022.
Who’s BAD+ ?
La Rédaction, Vivre Bordeaux. June 21, 2022.
Déjà 50 galeries sélectionnées pour le nouveaux salon BAD+ à Bordeaux
Béatrice De Rochebouët, The Art Newspaper Daily. May 3, 2022.
L’essor des foire régionales
A.M., Beaux Arts Magazine. January 1, 2022.
BAD+, nouveau rendez-vous à Bordeaux en 2022
R.P., Le Quotidien De L’art. January 2, 2021.
BAD+

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Pour cette première édition du Salon BAD + Bordeaux + Art + Design, qui se tiendra au Hangar 14 au bord de la Garonne, la galerie présentera - stand R+1 46 - les œuvres de Franco Bellucci, José Manuel Egea, Josef Hofer, Tomasz Machciński et Luboš Plný.

Ces cinq mythologies personnelles attestent d’un rapport de force entre l’intime et l’universel, le corps et l’esprit, l’analyse et la projection. À l’initiative de Jean Daniel Compain et Congrès Expositions Bordeaux, BAD+ offrira une programmation très riche concoctée par les plus grandes institutions culturelles locales, de l’art dans les vignes et dans la ville et, bien sûr, les propositions formulées dans le Hangar 14 par près de 70 galeries internationales éminentes.

christian berst art brut, stand r+1 46 à BAD+, Hangar 14, Bordeaux, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
christian berst art brut, stand r+1 46 à BAD+, Hangar 14, Bordeaux, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
christian berst art brut, stand r+1 46 à BAD+, Hangar 14, Bordeaux, 2022 - © christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
José Manuel Egea sans titre, 2016
20.5 x 27.5 cm
Tomasz Machcinski sans titre, 2009
30 x 38 cm
Franco Bellucci sans titre, 2009
48 x 54 cm
Josef Hofer sans titre, 2015
29.6 x 42 cm
Artistes
Luboš Plný, 2011, Prague - © Ⓒ Mario del Curto, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Figure reconnue de l’art brut contemporain, cet artiste tchèque est fasciné par l’iconographie médicale. Expert des arcanes de l’anatomie, il s’adonne – lorsqu’il ne dessine pas - à toutes sortes de performances rappelant les actionnistes. En testant les limites de l’existence physique, il conjure la mort et sublime la vie dans ce qu’elle a de plus organique. Ses œuvres extrêmement détaillées à l’encre de Chine et à l’acrylique, sont entrées dès 2013 dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) puis en 2021 grâce à la donation Bruno Decharme et furent notamment exposées à plusieurs reprises à la Maison rouge, au Japon ou lors de la biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les personnages tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreux musées, il compte parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles d’Antoine de Galbert (France), ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « l’un des plus grands artistes d’art brut contemporains ». Un ensemble important de ses œuvres a rejoint en 2021 les collections du Centre Pompidou, tandis que la galerie est devenue propriétaire de son estate en 2022.

En savoir plus
portrait de franco bellucci - © bargellini, christian berst — art brut

Franco Bellucci

Fréquentant l’atelier Blu Cammello à Livourne, il a d’abord été découvert par l’artiste Riccardo Bargellini. Les sculptures hybrides qu’il produit sont constituées d’objets hétéroclites dont les destins sont inexorablement liés, observées tantôt par le prisme de leur valeur transitionnelle, fétichiste ou apotropaïque.
Présent dans les collections du Musée national d’Art moderne (Pompidou), ses œuvres ont été présentées dans plusieurs grandes expositions, notamment au Museum für Moderne Kunst de Francfort ou à la Maison rouge à Paris.
”Ces œuvres sont douées d’une puissance symbolique que bien des artistes ‘professionnels’ sont incapables d’atteindre. ” (P. Dagen, Le Monde)

En savoir plus
portrait de josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

José Manuel Egea

Convaincu de sa lycanthropie, ce jeune artiste madrilène est fasciné par la métamorphose kafkaienne présente dans l’univers du comics et de la mythologie . Son œuvre, lui aussi polymorphe, constitué de dessins, sculptures et performances nous exhorte à accepter notre thérianthropie refoulée. Défendu par la galerie depuis 2016 il a fait l’objet, la même année, d’une vaste présentation lors de la Biennale de l’Image possible, à Liège. Il est désormais présent dans de grandes collections européennes comme celles d’Antoine de Galbert ou de Laurent Dumas (France).

En savoir plus
Tomasz Machcinski - © christian berst — art brut

Tomasz Machcinski

Très jeune, Tomasz Machciński se construit une identité autour d’un autographe, qui lui a été adressé par une actrice qu’il imagine alors être sa mère. De cette confusion, qui a duré plus de vingt ans, est née une mythologie protéiforme et personnelle qui re-construit l’artiste. À l’image du mythe ovidien, ou de Gregor Samsa, Tomasz Machciński ne peut être décrit. En effet, son œuvre se compose de plus de 22 000 autoportraits d’autant de physionomies différentes. Exposées en 2019 aux Rencontres de la Photographie, ses œuvres font déjà partie des collections du Musée d’Art Moderne de Varsovie et du Musée de la Photographie de Cracovie (Pologne) ainsi que de les collections abcd/Bruno Decharme et de la fondation Francès.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
BAD+ : débuts encourageants pour le salon bordelais
Alison Moss, Le Quotidien De L’art. Le 11 juillet 2022.
Bons débuts pour BAD+ à Bordeaux
Alexandre Crochet, The Art Newspaper Daily. Le 8 juillet 2022.
BAD+, une nouvelle foire à Bordeaux
M.M., Connaissance Des Arts. Le 7 juillet 2022.
Salon BAD+ à Bordeaux : de l’art dans la ville et dans les vignes
La Rédaction, Ideat Contemporary Life. Le 4 juillet 2022.
Jean-Daniel Compain : Bordeaux peut devenir une nouvelle destination artistique mondiale
Rodolphe Martinez, France Bleu. Le 3 juillet 2022.
Voir plus
BAD+, le nouveau rendez-vous bordelais
La Rédaction, La Gazette De L’hôtel Drouot. Le 1 juillet 2022.
BAD+, le nouveau rendez-vous bordelais
Sabrina Silamo, Ideat. Le 1 juillet 2022.
BAD+, le nouveau rendez-vous bordelais
Vanessa Schmitz-Grucker, La Gazette Drouot. Le 29 juin 2022.
Who’s BAD+ ?
La Rédaction, Vivre Bordeaux. Le 21 juin 2022.
Déjà 50 galeries sélectionnées pour le nouveaux salon BAD+ à Bordeaux
Béatrice De Rochebouët, The Art Newspaper Daily. Le 3 mai 2022.
L’essor des foire régionales
A.M., Beaux Arts Magazine. Le 1 janvier 2022.
BAD+, nouveau rendez-vous à Bordeaux en 2022
R.P., Le Quotidien De L’art. Le 2 janvier 2021.
BAD+

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.